• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 484 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 119,518 hits

Is It Really Only Tuesday?

I cannot believe that it’s only Tuesday night.  I feel like I’ve already been through the wringer this week.

Monday was an interesting day as far as shopping goes.

I had a bit of a disappointment, missing out on $8 of free groceries.  Still, though, I walked out of the store with 12 boxes of TGI Fridays frozen snacks, a whole chicken, and an onion for $.16.

Yeah, you read that correctly.  Sixteen cents, and I was disappointed.  Even though I saved $49.14.  Sigh…

In fact, I was so frustrated that I came home and sat on the couch like a zombie.  I didn’t even take a picture of my loot.

Rooster is having a bit of a crisis (regular student stuff) in one of his classes, so that also threw me for a loop, making my day that much worse.

I called my mother-in-law, expecting a consoling ear.

What did I get?

A question:  “Will you send me the coupons you couldn’t use?”

A true couponer at heart, eh?

I sent her half since the coupons don’t expire until next year (I’m a couponer at heart too).

I felt sorry for myself for a couple of hours…until I received a phone call from a gal I used to work with.

She has started her own food pantry, and I’ve delivered a couple of bags of food to her.

She asked me if I would help her spend a $100 donation she recently received.  She’s a new couponer and is feeling a little overwhelmed.

You know, I have to admit that as we talked, my focus was redirected…off of myself and on to others…just as it should be.

What a wonderful God we have…to remind me in the midst of my self-induced pity that I don’t need to be greedy, and I would be better served in helping others.

With my head on straight again and my heart uplifted, I headed out to Target.

I bought eight bags of dog food for $.26 each (total out-of-pocket was $3.64) and saved $33.84…

I went to bed feeling a little better.

Tuesday morning loomed, and I started off the day by subbing.

Let’s just say that I had some interesting classes.  They were vocal, but we all kept good attitudes…even after I scored three cell phones (one per class).  I actually did the Happy Dance when I nabbed the third suspect.  The kids chuckled.

After school I headed back to Publix.  It’s the last day of last week’s sales, and I wanted to get a few more things…

Wanna know what I paid?

$1.88.

The only thing that wasn’t free was the orange (plus tax on the other items).

Hooya!

Good thing I saved so much and was in a good mood.

As Rooster sat on the couch finishing up his math homework, his friend from across the street called and asked to borrow To Kill a Mockingbird, the book their English classes are currently reading.

Uh oh…Rooster left his book at school, not realizing that his five-chapter reading assignment is due tomorrow.

By this point, it was 7pm.

Good thing he has a smart Mama.

I went online and looked up the hours of my local library.

On Tuesdays, it is open until 8pm, and it had three copies of this book available!

Off I ran to check one out.

As I drove home, I shook my head.

I can’t believe it’s only Tuesday.  I think tomorrow I might just stay in my jammies and snuggle with the dogs.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

