• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 484 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 119,441 hits

Mastering the Hodgepodge

After taking a week off to Spring-Break it, Joyce has returned with a new set of questions for the Hodgepodge!  Yay!  You know the drill.  Answer the questions on your own blog and link back up at Joyce’s.  Then, visit others!

1.  Have you ever played golf? Any interest in playing? Do you have a significant other who loves to play? Did you watch The Masters this past weekend?

I have played Putt Putt.  Does that count?  Let’s just say that most people beat me at Putt Putt because I did not inherit one itsy bitsy sports-related gene.  And no, I did not watch the Masters although I really don’t mind watching golf on TV.  I really did not watch my daytime television last weekend.

2.  Hats are back in fashion this spring…how do you feel about wearing a hat? (fyi-I’m not talking baseball caps) When was the last time you wore one?

Oh, I love wearing hats!!!  The only time I do, though, is when the weather is cold.  That’s when I pull out the hats I’ve knit over the years.

Brattleboro Hat

Koolhaas Hat

Mini Mochi Fair Isle Hat

3.  On a scale of 1-10 with 10 meaning proficient and 1 meaning “I’d starve“, how adept are you at using chopsticks?

I’d say a 10 if the question allows for using the chopsticks to shovel the food into my mouth.  Otherwise, I’m not coordinated enough to use chopsticks (although I do knit decently…go figure).

4.  Has technology taken over?

For the most part, I think it has.  It takes computers to run nearly everything, including the cars we drive!!

5.  In the course of a day how often do you look in a mirror?

Tough question!  I do frequent booger checks because I am a teacher and do not want to gross out my kids by having boogers hanging out of my nose.

True dat!

6.  Tulip or Daffodil?

I like the shape of tulips the best.

7.  I am proud of myself for __________________.

I am proud of myself for doing what it took to achieve one of my life-long dreams…teaching.  I went back to school, full-time, while working part-time, rearing two children and traveling across the state and country for soccer.  I didn’t give up even after over a dozen interviews and two years of subbing.  I’m proud of myself for never throwing in the table but having faith that the Lord would see through the plans He had for me.

8.  My Random Thought

A few weeks ago, I put out an SOS on KnittingHelp for baby blankets.  Two of my current students and a student who started out the first half of the year with me are expecting babies.  These girls are babies themselves.  Sigh.  I wanted a way to show them that someone cares about them.  Though I don’t really have time to make each of them a blanket, someone else did.  I received a package in the mail yesterday.  It contained these…

These came from one of KH’s Oddball Blanket coordinators.

Each blanket is themed…

Ahhh…Remar-cable…love the play on words.  Here’s the other side of the blanket (I didn’t want to take the ribbon off and mess up the pretty bow…

The next blanket is called Rainbow Connection…

The third blanket is called “Candy Cane.”

Ever since I started knitting in 2007, I’ve learned that yarnies, whether they are knitters or crocheters, are some of the most generous folks around!  I’m blessed to call myself a member of this community.

7 Responses

  1. With knitting you’re using both hands tho…chopsticks…well….of course I can’t brag…I don’t use ‘em well myself. I crochet…with ONE needle. LOL

    BOTTOMS UP is my Wednesday post link.

    Have a glorious day!

  2. I love the knit hats you created! How you do that I will never know! Those baby blankets are such a sweet gesture and ones I’m sure those girls will greatly appreciate. Doesn’t it just make your heart ache to see young girls become pregnant? They truly have no clue what they have ahead of them, do they?

  3. That really is so wonderful of you and the other knitters to do something special for your students. I’m sure that the generosity means a lot to these girls.

  4. I’m proud of you too… what an achievement & a dream come true.. & inspiration to others on your teaching career :)

    Love the blankets too… in a time of fear for these girls, it’ll be good for them to see they are supported & those babies are loved.

  5. Such beautiful blankets. I’m working on a mint green one now for a baby to be born in July!

  6. those blankets are beautiful I am sure the girls will appreciate them.
    I love the hats you have made too!!

  7. Wow! That is so cool that someone gave you extra blankets! I bet the girls loved them. Teenage pregnancy: so sad. OS had a teammate/classmate whose girlfriend had a baby right after they graduated (or maybe it was their last semester of school). He could’ve gone on to play college ball, but instead got married and got a job. She went to nursing school and is now working as well. They’ve been married for 5 years and had another baby about a year ago. That’s the exception to the rule, unfortunately! Your “boogie” response made me laugh! I thought about that, but didn’t put it down. You crack me up!
    Your hats: Gosh, you’re such a show-off, auburnchick! (enter sarcasm here!)

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

