• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 478 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • My Family

    My Family

The Book Thief

Tuesday night, I finished The Book Thief.

At 576 pages, I’ll admit that even I felt a bit overwhelmed when I first opened this book.

Although it took me a few pages to get used to the voice of the narrator, I found myself drawn further and further into this book.

It is told from the perspective of Death, who observes (and cleans up) the mess left from WW2 and, specifically, Hitler’s reign of terror.

Death explains the happenings of a young girl who is taken in by foster parents after the death of her brother.  She is illiterate and, after stealing a book during the burial of her brother’s death, her new Papa teaches her to read.

It’s a slow, painful, yet poignant process.

In the meantime, she grows to love her new parents, her best friend, and even the mayor’s wife, who is a bit odd but provides even more books to read.

There were several points during my reading that I had to set this book aside…to think about what I’d just read.

I was moved to the point where I could no longer turn pages because I wanted to really absorb the messages being put forth.

I excitedly told my students about the book, and two young men were quick on the draw.  One easily gave up though (struggling readers are going to be very intimidated by this book).  The other young man took on the challenge.  I’m going to work with him closely, encouraging him to stick it out.

I think that if he does, his world will be opened up to larger-than-life messages about life, death, and the potential for change that words bring into each person’s life.

This book is a keeper…one that demands to be read, discussed, and treasured.

One Response

  1. Never heard of this, but it sounds interesting. Hope your student enjoys it.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 478 other followers

