• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 489 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 122,413 hits

40-Minute Phone Calls

Yesterday afternoon, my phone rang.

I was delighted to see that it was my Rooster boy, calling to chat with his Mama.

Rooster’s first words were, “We haven’t talked in a while, so I thought I would call.”

Be still my beating heart.

He proceeded to tell me about the A-Day game he had attended.  A-Day is Auburn’s annual Spring Training game.

If you don’t watch sports, you might have missed the update on the news.  Attendance was at its highest ever for this event…over 80,000!  This was something, let me tell you, given Auburn’s horrible 2012-2013 season.  We have a new coach, and everyone is pumped!

In addition to the game was a somber reminder of how cruel people can be.  Toomer’s Corner has two beautiful oak trees that were poisoned a couple of years ago.  Despite all attempts to save them, it’s time to take them down.  These trees got rolled with toilet paper after every football victory, so seeing them come down will be difficult.

After the A-Day game, fans gave the trees one grand sendoff, let me tell you, and Rooster was right in the middle of it.

After he shared about the game, the conversation veered to other topics…classes…fraternity stuff…summer plans.

Ahhh…summer…when my baby will be coming home to work and just…well…relax.

As we talked, I could tell that he was happy about coming home.

He talked about a friend who is going through some family problems and is trying to grow wings to become an independent flyer, so to speak.

We talked about how much things had changed for us, as a family. 

I told him how much joy I had as I listened to him tell me that he wants to come home.  I shared that one of my greatest fears when he and Chicky went off to college was that they would not want to come back home.

He told me, “You’ve surprised me, Mama.  Although you and Daddy were super strict while we were in high school, you’ve allowed me to go away to school, take classes, and have fun.  I really like coming home too.”

Ahhh.

I had been worried that my over-protectiveness while my babies were living 24-7 under my roof had created hurdles that we would not be able to get over.

Rooster’s kind words set my worries at ease.

How I love my children.

How I treasure every moment I get to spend with them.

Do I regret holding tightly to them when they were younger?

Not really.

I did what I thought was best, and God worked even within my mistakes.

How I treasure such conversations as these.

I look forward to having my babies home in a couple of weeks when these conversations can occur face-to-face rather than over the phone.

2 Responses

  1. Boy, can I ever relate! Unfortunately, Brittany will only be coming home for only two weeks next month, then she’ll be back to Mobile to attend summer school. Hey, but I’ll take whatever I can get at this point! Cherish the moments, right?

  2. ahhh – that’s what you want… them to always want to come home :)

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 489 other followers

