• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,352 hits

The Ups and Downs of Parenting

I thought that having nearly grown children would slow down the emotional roller coaster ride I’ve been on for the last twenty or so years.

Wrong-O.

After being on a high of having my Chicky girl home last weekend, I’m hitting the lows again.

First of all, when Rooster picked me up from work yesterday (we were dealing with car problems), his face bespoke of his less-than-great first day at his new job.

He was terribly disappointed and discouraged, and even as I type this, I’m finding myself battling conflicting emotions of empathy and suck-it-up-ed-ness.

Rooster drove me to the car place to pick up Chicky’s vehicle, which I’ll be driving until she comes home in May since she had to leave it here to be repaired.  I called Chicky to gloat about driving her baby.

That’s when she told me she’d sprained her ankle yesterday during soccer practice, and she has to take it easy for a week or two.

My poor girl.  This is the third injury she’s had this season, and it’s killing me not to be there to force Motrin down her throat and tie ice to her bum ankle.

Sigh.

I’m wondering if I’m truly going through more ups and downs of parenting, or if I’m merely experiencing the onset of menopause and all of the emotional extremes that come with it.

It could, quite honestly, be a bit of both.

The parenting thing never really stops, or so I tell Chicky every time I feel a need to justify my overprotective nature (otherwise known as helicopter-mom-ed-ness).

I’m also a high school teacher, which means that I’m never far away from the teenage angst that sometimes leads me to question my own abilities as a fearless leader (yeah, right).

Sigh.

It’s too bad I don’t eat chocolate any more.  This would definitely be a time to indulge in a monster size bar of it!

4 Responses

  1. No chocolate? Yikes!

  2. Not only does the parenting thing never end, it gets more expensive as our kids get older 🙂 Don’t worry…it’s normal. I think I will always miss my baby birds who have flown this coop and wish they could return to our empty nest.

  3. What you’re experiencing is not uncommon, by any means. I’m right there with you! I think it could be pre-menopausal symptoms kicking in, but I, also, think it’s the dreaded empty-nest syndrome that’s drawing ever near. I’m finding that with Brittany, she doesn’t seem to need me as much anymore…and that’s a tough pill to swallow, especially since all I’ve ever done for 20 years is be a MOM. She seems to rely more on her boyfriend these days than me. I almost feel forgotten about sometimes, though I know that isn’t really the case. Then, there’s Abby who’s going through those trying teen years. She thinks I never understand and I’ve never been in her shoes…but I do and I have. So, my role as ‘mom’ is definitely changing before my very eyes and it’s all out of my control, for once.

  4. I can’t imagine not being able to have chocolate! You must find some other indulgence that you can have 🙂

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

