• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 550 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,119 hits

Juicing, FCAT’ing, and PMS’ing

Wow.

What a crazy start to the week!

I’ve been contemplating a “reset” to rid my body of the Mt. Dew addiction I’ve acquired over the last few months.  I’m still eating a vegan diet, and, for the most part, I’m sticking to it very well.  I rarely, if ever, eat dessert, but the Mt. Dew thing is getting out of control.  I’ve also noticed that I haven’t been eating much fresh fruit and vegetables.  What I’ve been eating?  Veggie burgers from Burger King (minus the mayo), veggie sandwiches from Panera, and black bean burgers from Chili’s, to name a few dishes.

Ultimately, I just haven’t been feeling as comfortable in my own skin as I did last summer.

Hence, my decision to embark on another ten-day juice fast.

I started on Saturday.

But I made a big mistake.

I didn’t prepare ahead of time.

I didn’t buy the fruits and vegetables that I needed for my juice.

So, I drank water all day.

No biggie, I thought.

Until Sunday, when I got out of bed and thought I was going to pass out.  My heart started racing.

I was in trouble.

The Mr. and Rooster had gone to church, so I made my way to the porch and sat there for a while, watching the dogs play in the yard.

After the Mr. got home, I asked him to buy me orange juice and the fruits and veggies I needed.

I think my blood sugar level had gotten too low, so I needed to quickly pump it up so I could stand for longer periods of time.

Normally I do not drink store-bought OJ.  It loses its nutrition in the pasteurization process.

Plus, the sugars are just too high.

Still, I needed to do what I needed to do.

I wound up spending Sunday on the couch.  I just was not feeling well…dealing also with feminine symptoms.

Can someone please say MENOPAUSE or HYSTERECTOMY?

Oy.

On Monday, Florida students began taking the FCAT.  I have to proctor all week.

It’s a nervous time for the students and teachers…especially Reading teachers such as myself.  We spend eight months strengthening the skills that will ultimately be measured through this test.

It was a rough few hours for me.  Physically, I was hurting from my feminine symptoms.  I was also tired, despite going to bed early last night.  When you fast, the first few days are the worst.  Afterward, there’s an energy burst that you don’t get from anything else.  I think I hit a wall today.

So, if I’m a little quiet this week, you’ll know why.

I’m dealing with the big 3’s.

Don’t be jealous.  It doesn’t become you.

😀

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

