• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,352 hits

Juggling the Hodgepodge

It’s time for the Hodgepodge, and Joyce has some fun questions for us this week!  Play along, blog your own answers, and link back up with Joyce!

1.  Spring is in the air (at least in my neck of the woods) and the birds are singing…what’s your favorite bird?

I don’t know that I’m much of a bird-watcher.  I guess if I had to name one, I’d say the eagle.  When we were on our Alaskan cruise last summer, we saw a LOT of them flying around the islands.  They were AMAZING!!  It’s no wonder that our forefathers chose this animal to represent our country!

2.  Speaking of birds…do you tweet? If so tell us your screen name and we’ll come flocking to your Twitter site. Even if you don’t let’s all pretend here that we do-in 140 characters or less, sum up your week so far.

I tried tweeting.  Twice.  I hated it.  Both times.  I deleted my account.  I just think it’s too much with Facebook and blogging.  I don’t really get the point.

Now, as far as summing up my week, I think the title of my previous blog post will work just fine:  Juicing, FCAT’ing, and PMS’ing

3.  Its been reported recently that employers are not only viewing the Facebook pages of potential hires but they’re also requesting your Facebook password to have a look at what you’ve kept from public view. What say you?

It’s one thing to view your Facebook profile; however, I think that employers are crossing the line with asking for a password.  THAT is an invasion of privacy.  Might as well give them your bank password so they can see how much money you have in your account.  Me thinks this smells like someone’s taking advantage of desperate job seekers to play Peeping Tom.

4.  It’s April and you know what that means-Major League Baseball is back in action. What’s your favorite baseball movie? If that’s too hard, what’s your favorite sports themed movie?

I’m not much of a baseball fan, although I have enjoyed the few high school games I’ve attended recently.  As far as baseball movies go, I guess I’d have to say Field of DreamsWho doesn’t like Kevin Costner?

5.  Something else this season brings-asparagus. Yes please or no thanks? If it’s yes please what’s your favorite way to have it prepared?

Oh, I LOVE asparagus any way you serve it up!  I first tried it from the can, and I still like it this way…a little mushy but fine in my opinion.  I’ve been enjoying it grilled from several restaurants.  I also like it in sushi!!

6.  What drives you? (Don’t you love how I sandwiched that one in between asparagus and jugglers???)

I have a deep-seated fear of disappointing others as well as myself, so I’m driven by the need to obtain perfection…something I know I’ll never achieve but will try nonetheless.  I simply cannot accept less than my best at something, and I drive myself nuts when I don’t do things like I think I can or should.  I’m trying to learn to let some of this go, though, because my high expectations are leading to too many late nights and stress-filled weeks.  There’s very little downtime when you’re constantly thinking about ways to perfect something or ways you didn’t do something right.  Sigh.  I’m ready to ride in the passenger seat for a change.

7.  April 18th is International Jugglers Day…can you juggle?

Funny you should ask, Joyce.  I’m the queen of juggling 500 things at once…a calendar that consists of parent/teacher conferences, IEP meetings, team meetings, faculty meetings, lesson plans, online classes, assignments for online classes, computer training, mommying fur babies, mommying grown human babies…shoot, the list goes on and on.

Sure, my show will never be headlining in Vegas, but I’m thinking that my name might be up in lights in heaven one day.  🙂

8.  My Random Thought

State of Florida public school students are taking the state reading assessment this week.  Being a test administrator might seem like an easy job; however, it’s exhausting!!  Watching students take 70-minute tests is mind-numbing, and the stress of watching those you have worked with for eight months is even worse.  We won’t even find out results until the summer!!

I’m also starting Day 5 of a ten-day juice fast.  Yesterday was the first day that I felt remotely human.  Hence, it’s been a stressful few days.

As a treat, my friend, Barb, who’s also administering exams, and I went and got our toes done.  We found this adorable blue polish in the salon…

Barb left when her feet dried, but I decided that since I needed my nails filled in, there was no better time than the present.

I was feeling adventurous, so here’s what I had done…

I love them!  They are funky and fun.  The silver line going across the tips add a sparkle that I can’t keep my eyes from.

My students are going to like them.  They notice things like this, you see.

 

5 Responses

  1. I am lovin’ your manicure and pedicure! Blue is definitely IN! Tweeting isn’t for me, either. Just another thing to take up my time. Great answer for #6!

  2. an alaskan cruise sounds awesome! i have been wanting to go on one forever. just booked a caribbean cruise today with friends for our 30th birthdays 🙂

  3. I know you’re a wee bit stressed : ) but its nice to know there are such conscientious teachers out there!

  4. Your nails would work perfectly here – GO UK WILDCATS – GO BIG BLUE! 🙂

    I didnt even know they had asparagus in cans!!!

  5. Cute polish job.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

