• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,574 hits

Six More Weeks!

Today marks the beginning of the final six weeks of instructional time!  Woo Hoo!!

Most of the reading teachers are focusing on figurative language.  It’s a unit that’s fun and not as integral to the FCAT, so we tend to teach it after THE test.

I’m beginning the unit of study with a viewing of the movie Dead Poet’s Society.  Can you believe, but I’ve never seen it before!!

We watched the first half last Friday.

I suspect that my students think it’s a bit hokey.

That’s okay.

I plan on having a lot of fun as we discuss the various messages…how poetry and writing, in general, can become the facilitators for change…how learning to express yourself can open yourself up to new opportunities

One of the biggest themes from this movie is Carpe Diem.

I taught a unit last year on Carpe Diem, but I’m sad to say that it didn’t go over very well with certain people.

I’m thrilled that I have more freedom this year to teach about it.  I teach children who have tough lives not to mention difficulties learning.  They are often beaten down and don’t believe in themselves.

I hope that my enjoyment for language and the activities and assignments I have planned will spark curiosity and courage in even my quietest students.

One of the best things about teaching high school is watching as students begin to gain confidence and step out to affect change…in themselves and the world around them.

I don’t know about you, but I plan on seizing the day!

Carpe Diem!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

