• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,503 hits

A Shakespearean Hodgepodge

Joyce has cooked up more questions for us in this, her weekly meme.  Play along and have some fun!  You’ll never know what questions she’ll pose next week!

1.  William Shakespeare’s birthday is celebrated on April 23rd…when did you last read Shakespeare? What’s your favorite Shakespeare play?

Honestly, the only play I’ve read is Romeo and Juliet.  I taught it to my 9th and 10th graders last year, and then, right after we finished, I had to teach two lessons to the classes in which I was student teaching for my teaching certification.  Because of these experiences, I’ve grown to love this play immensely and couldn’t stop myself from googling favorite quotes from the play.  I found this site.

I like the following lines especially so…because my students (and my “temporary” ones) scrutinized the language in them thoroughly…

“It seems she hangs upon the cheek of night like a rich jewel in an Ethiope’s ear”
– William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, 1.5

“O Romeo, Romeo! wherefore art thou Romeo?
Deny thy father and refuse thy name.
Or if thou wilt not, be but sworn my love
And I’ll no longer be a Capulet.”
– William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, 2.2

“See, how she leans her cheek upon her hand!
O that I were a glove upon that hand,
that I might touch that cheek!”
– William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, 2.2

My absolute favorite line is…

“It is the east, and Juliet is the sun”
– William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, 2.2

I’m currently teaching figurative language.  I think I’ll use the line above to explain what a metaphor is.

2.  What food(s) would you recommend a foreign visitor try when they visit your home country?

If I were to suggest a dish from Canada, where I was born, I would say that a visitor would have to try the French Fry/Cheese Curd/Brown Gravy dish.  It sounds weird, but it’s divine!

As a naturalized citizen of the U.S.A., I’d suggest that a foreign visitor try out Frito Pie.

Oh.

My.

Word.

Who knew that Fritos, chili, cheese, and jalapeno peppers could taste so delicious?!

I first tried this delectablly unhealthy dish at one of Chicky’s high school soccer games.  It’s a popular dish at such venues.

It’d like to think that it exists in the upper echelon of junk food.  It’s definitely heavenly!  It certainly makes me miss cheese (which I don’t eat anymore as a vegan).

3.  What’s a lie you often tell yourself?

I tell myself two lies…

1)  I’m cool.

2)  I can dance like Shakera.

Um.

Yeah.

4.  What’s something you’re good at that might surprise us? Remember this is a family friendly blog!

Dancing.

No, I’m not kidding.  I really can dance.

Just not like Shakera.

She wasn’t around in the 80’s.

We had such role models as Madonna.

Yeah.

I’m lying to myself again, aren’t I?

5.  Who is your favorite animal character from a book.

I’m not much for animals in books.  They always die or are mistreated or are lost, so I choose not to read books with animals in them.

With that said, I did like the cat, Buttercup, in the Hunger Games series.  That cat loved Prim and was loyal to Prim to the end.  I love the relationship that develops between the cat and Katniss who have similar dispositions…toughness and loyalty on the outside and vulnerability on the inside.

6.  April showers bring May flowers…do you have a green thumb?

I don’t have a green thumb.  I enjoy growing sunflowers, but that’s about it.  I just don’t have time for flowers and yard work.

Wait.

I say that, but I have four live plants in the house.

Maybe my fingernail is green.

😀

7.  Speaking of rainy days…which one of the following activities would you most want to spend time doing on a rainy day-

sort photos and create albums
bake cookies

read a good book

hold an all-day movie marathon

organize closets, cupboards, or bookshelves

try a new recipe

fix something that needs fixing

Dang.  You just had to say “one,” didn’t you?

I think I’d like an all-day movie marathon…while wearing my fuzzy white robe…and munching on chips and salsa.

8.  My Random Thought

I’m having trouble ending my juice fast.  If you haven’t been to my blog recently, I should tell you that Monday marked ten days of my juice fast.

I’d originally intended to only go for ten days, and after the last juice fast I did, I figured I’d be chomping at the bit.

However, at the end of my last juice fast, I didn’t transition slowly.  In fact, I jumped right into eating a greasy sandwich and fries.

Yeah.

I was very sick that night.

I’ve been doing some reading, so I know that I need to come off slowly, incorporating foods into my diet gradually.

A small part of my brain wants tortilla chips, salsa, and fries.

The rest of my brain and my heart, in fact, want to keep going.

I like the way my body is feeling.

I like having curves above my hips that go inward instead of outward (as in flab).

I know that this sounds vain, and I certainly don’t mean for it to.

If you saw a picture of me, you’d think I was nuts to be concerned.

Sigh.

It’s all a matter of balance, I guess.

This is hard for an all-or-nothing kind of gal like me.

I tend to jump into things with both feet…a little too enthusiastically sometimes.

Though I’m tempted to continue this fast for another seven days, I going to do my best to wean myself from it.

Chicky is coming home next Friday, and I’d like to be able to partake of food with her.  I need at least four or five days to get my body used to eating again.

It’s times like this when I realize just how social of an activity that eating is.  Food brings people together.

Food just isn’t that important to me.

Sigh.

I obviously have issues.

Don’t we all.

😀

Please say a prayer for me.

Thanks!

4 Responses

  1. I don’t think I’ve eaten Frito Pie since I was a kid. Good luck with the transition. I’ve never done any sort of fast.

  2. Yes to Frito Pie! Boy, are they ever good! It’s funny you mentioned that dish from Canada. I watched Live With Kelly when they were up there filming recently and she brought out a plate of that same thing and said it was to-die-for! I hope your body can make the transition fairly easily…i think I would be an epic failure. You have my prayers!

  3. I was up in the middle of the night and read your post and typed a response and somehow I lost the whole thing. Who knows?!? I guess it’s off in the cyber world somewhere.

    Anyway, I’ve never heard of Frito Pie but it looks and sounds wonderful. I also enjoyed reading your Shakespeare quotes. I’m not a big Shakespeare fan but I recognize a few of them. Buttercup was a good answer for favorite animal in a book. I really enjoyed that series and I liked your take on his relationship to Katniss. Oh and I prayed for you when I was up in the middle of the night too. Hoping all will go well for you.

  4. You are cracking me up with the dance comments… Did you see my video clip dancing behind that lady? Isnt that like Shakira too? 🙂 haha

    I bet your system does freak out after incorporating food back in… stay safe… no sickies for you!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

