• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,836 hits

Deflated

I’m pretty proud of myself.

I finally bit the bullet and decided to read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Actually, my students kind of shamed me into it when, at the beginning of the school year, they began by asking if I’d read various books, including Harry Potter.ย  When I responded in the negative (hey, I’ve been in and out of school and job hunting for the last six years!), they asked, “Why in the world are you teaching reading?”

Gotta love them!

So, as I was saying, I finally got around to pulling the first HP book off of my bookshelf and began reading.ย  I’m nearly finished.

Yesterday, I was shooting the breeze with my students, and I asked, “So, who read over the weekend, and what did you read that wasn’t Facebook or text messages?”

A few answered back.

That’s when I told them I was almost finished with the Harry Potter book.

That’s when someone asked, “Are you going to read all of the books, Mrs. AuburnChick?”

“Of course,” I said.

They gasped and responded, “All seven of them??”

Um, what?

I thought there were only three.

I think that’s all that I have on my bookshelf.

“Oh yes, there are seven,” they told me.

A quick search on Amazon when I got home confirmed it.

I feel deflated.

I figured I’d have those books knocked out in no time.

Now it would seem that I’ll be reading Harry Potter all summer.

Well, given that I am a reading teacher, I guess things could be much worse.

5 Responses

  1. You thought there were only 3? haha! I wish there was more than 7.

  2. But they’re SOOOOO good! ๐Ÿ™‚ You’ll love them! All 7! ๐Ÿ™‚

    (BTW – the 3rd book is my favorite – so you woulda been good if you got to that one) ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You can do it! I bet once you get into a rhythm, you won’t be able to put them down!

  4. Ha, ha, ha!!! At least they knew there were 7! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Don’t worry about taking all summer to read them, they’ll trip off the bookshelf pretty quickly once you get going on them!! As the series progresses you’ll notice a change in them as JKR obviously realised there was a film franchise possibility in them, and the narrative gets a lot less dense and twisted as it goes on. I’ll be interested to see what you make of them after around book 3/4. I reckon that’s where the first film was being mooted and after that, JKR obviously wrote the next lot with the screenplay in mind.

    Or it could just be me being cynical!!

    Nevertheless, you’ll enjoy reading them ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

