• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,566 hits

Baby Bluejay Rescue Mission

On Sunday afternoon, I let the dogs out to do their business.  For some reason, I walked out with them.

All of a sudden, I noticed the dogs going after some sort of critter.  I stepped out of the porch to take a closer look, and that’s when I saw this little guy…

It took me awhile to get the dogs away from the baby bird.

I called the Mr. outside to help me.  He figured that the little guy had fallen out of a nest.

We hunted around the yard for a nest but couldn’t find anything; however, the Mr. found a couple of nests in a tree in the yard of the neighbor who lives behind us.

The nests were too far up to reach with a ladder.

After thinking about what to do, I finally decided to grab a towel, snatch the bird, and carry him to the fence.

I had seen that he could flap his wings a bit, so I thought he could fly a little.

I gently dropped him over the fence, saying a small prayer as I did so.

I hope his mama finds him so she can care for him until he’s old enough to take care of himself.

3 Responses

  1. Poor little thing… look at him looking right at you, like he’s saying “Are you my mommy?”

  2. Aww…he looks so worried. Sure hope he’s able to find his way.

  3. He’s precious!! Sure hope his mama finds him…..

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

