• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,347 hits

A Little Bit of Sand To Accompany the Hodgepodge

Joyce’s questions are making me long for vacation!!  I’ve got three and a half more instructional weeks before I’ll be on vacation again!  Of course, I’m using that term lightly because I will be attending training and taking an online course this summer.  No rest for the weary…or at least a second-on-the-way-to-third-year teacher.  Play along, post your own answers, and check back in with Joyce.  Fun times, people, fun times!  Oh yeah, and don’t forget to clean the sand that’s between your toes.

1.  What is a pet peeve you have when vacationing?

Hotels that don’t provide at least four towels are usually on my grumpy list when I’m out of town.  Seriously?  When you get a room that has at least two beds, it should be assumed that at least four people are going to be in there.  I need a towel for my hair and one for my body, so even if it’s only the Mr. and me traveling, I still need a lot of towels.  Grump, grump.

2.  Would you describe yourself as a light packer or do you need everything in your closet plus the kitchen sink?

I am a heavy packer.  But, my suitcase mainly consists of knitting projects, even though I’m a monogamous knitter (one project at a time).  I’m worried that I’ll become some speed-knitting demon, get finished with my project, and need something else.  Then, I’m worried that I won’t be able to decide which project to do next, so I take enough supplies for several, along with my entire knitting needle case (it’s thick) and accoutrements.  It’s all about priorities, right?

3.  What’s the best lesson a child ever taught you?

I’m learning a lot from the students I teach.  Probably one of the lessons that has been the most difficult but the most important one to learn is to not argue with a student.  One of my guys told me that the first part of the year.  It broke my heart because he was frustrated when he said it.  I took a long, hard look at myself and have worked on this ever since.  Of course, now the kids can’t stand when I won’t argue back because I’m not providing entertainment for the class…in essence, I’m taking the wind out of their sails and not showing that they can get to me.  It was probably one of the best lessons I’ve learned this year.

4.  Share one piece of advice you’d give a recent graduate as they attempt to enter the job market?

My advice would be to pray fervently and not lose hope…that God has a plan to place you in just the perfect position, if you’ll just wait and trust Him.

5.  What’s your favorite lemon something?

I like lemon furniture polish.  The smell is oh so clean!!

6.  Flat sandal, wedge, heel…your favorite footwear?

ALL OF THE ABOVE!  Seriously, Joyce, you’re asking us to choose?  I love shoes.  I’ll admit it!  I will not choose because I have a lot of each one of them.  I live in Florida, so I have a lot of sandals.  I’m slowly acquiring more wedges, and I do love my heels…especially when teaching.

7.  What do you like best about a beach holiday? If you’re not a beach lover (GASP!!) what do you dislike the least?

I live at the beach and, gasp, don’t really go out on the beach.  But, I remember when I used to come down here during Spring Break.  What I loved most (and still do) are the sounds and smells associated with the beach.  Oh, and the beautiful sunrises and sunsets.  I used to go out on walks as the sun was coming up.  It’s very peaceful on the beach before everyone gets there.

The thing I dislike most about it is the sand.  It gets EVERYWHERE and is impossible to completely get rid of.

8.  My Random Thought

As I mentioned earlier, there are only three and a half more instructional weeks left.

Teaching is becoming even more fun, in some ways, as students are relaxing (this does have its drawbacks, but let’s focus on the positives right now) and teachers are relaxing.

I had a great teachable moment yesterday.

We’re currently studying how allusion is used, and I’d planned on showing my students the pilot of Once Upon a Time.

For bellwork, I asked students to list as many fairytale characters as they could remember.

Well, we got into a bit of a discussion about what is a fairytale and what isn’t.  They insisted that Shrek is a fairytale character, and I said no.  To me, a fairytale is an older story passed down over generations.

One of my students told me to Google it.

I’ve taught them well.

Heeheehee

I refused, but while they were doing their independent reading, I DID google.

One thing led to another until I finally decided to cut their reading short.

I explained that we were about to have what teachers call a “teachable moment,” when instruction is improvised to incorporate something that’s cropped up.

I first showed them the definition I’d found for fairytale.  Then, I showed them an article about Shrek and explained that the movie is a parody.  I also snuck in a bit of instruction about what sources of information you can trust (this particular source was from a Time Magazine correspondent…more trustworthy than Ask.com or Wikipedia).

Anyhoo…

Next, we talked about what a parody was.

I asked my students if they knew what the word meant, and they didn’t; however, one of my students said that it sounded like parrot.

I was so proud!

I said, “And what does a parrot do?”

My students said, “Repeat what someone says.”

Ding, ding, ding!!

I explained that a parody is an imitation of something else, usually for comedic reasons. Shrek is sort of a parody.

Then, I explained that the show I was about to let them watch was a parody of sorts that uses fairytale characters to create the storyline and to watch for allusions to other characters.

See how I tied everything together.

Teaching is hard work, but it’s times like these that make it so much fun and rewarding!!

11 Responses

  1. WOW – I love how you tied all that together at the end! As a HUGE Once Upon a Time fan, but having to pause through every episode and tell my kids the original fairy tales they are alluding too… it has been a matter of discussion in our family as well! What a great teacher you are! have a great rest of your week!!

  2. How you’re able to teach wearing heels is beyond me. My feet would be dying by the end of the day! Whew…I was a little worried, at first, when I read your answer to # 5…until I saw that you like the SMELL of it. 🙂 Smart job on #8!

  3. For me personally, I can’t figure out how the students think an argument would be entertaining. LOL Around here, Bud and I and most of the locals avoid the beaches during Spring Break….college students from all around come here…the population doubles during the Spring Break…all beach revelers.

    OUTDOOR SEASIDE SCULPTURES is my link for today.

    Hope your Wednesday will be a glorious one, all day long!!

  4. Yep…the beach would be great if it weren’t for all that sand! LOL!
    I absolutely LOVE how you tie present day happenings into your lessons! It makes it so much more meaningful!

  5. I am so with you about the towels!!

    here’s my hodgepodge:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2012/05/wednesday-hodgepodge-5912.html

    Colletta

  6. Glad you are enjoying your teaching experience! Well done on your Moment!

    Hopping by… here’s my HodgePodge.

  7. Glad you are enjoying your teaching experience! Well done on your teachable moment!

    Hopping by… here’s my HodgePodge.

  8. LOVE teachable moments! And I totally agree about having to pick ONE favorite type of shoe…for me, impossible! Which is why I am a heavy packer too 🙂

  9. I actually take towels & wash clothes just for that reason… I alone use 3 towels when taking a shower 🙂

    Heck – I just learned something from your lesson with the kids 🙂 You have to be the coolest teacher ever!

  10. I so would have loved having a teacher like you! 🙂

  11. You made me laugh with your description of how you pack your knitting things. You said EXACTLY the same thought process I have!! I might finish the project I’m on (I rarely do when I’m away….but one day I might, right?) and then I’ll need something to do afterwards, but I’ve got to take something according to my mood so end up taking tonnes of stuff that comes straight back home with me untouched. We are very alike!!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

