• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,352 hits

Lord, You Get Me

I’m having one of those moments.

Or two or three or four.

You know the kind…

Where almost everyone you care about seems to have a complaint about something you are doing…

The kind of moment when what you are seeing or think you are seeing is, in reality, not what you think it is…

When reality isn’t what you expected.

Yeah.

I may be PMS’ing a bit, but as a human being, I am allowed to have feelings, right?

I’m really starting to get to the point where I don’t care.

I’m trying to live my life in a way that honors the Lord but, at the same time, allows ME to be who I am.

That may not be what others think I should be.

And it may mean that I do something that someone thinks is weird.

I.

Do.

Not.

Care.

I think what’s in order is a little bit of prioritizing…

Prioritizing what, exactly, I care about…

And, perhaps not putting all of my hopes in things that may never change.

This is easy to do, in theory.

Actually executing it is a lot more difficult.

But, after getting my heart trampled on by thoughtless words or a repeated unwillingness of others to accept me for who I am, I’m determined to change how I respond.

I will continue to do as God leads me.

I will continue to love but with a lot more trepidation (bruised hearts take forever to heal, if they ever completely do, that is).

I will continue to make decisions that, although they don’t hurt anyone, may not be what someone else considers “normal.”

I am thankful that I don’t (and shouldn’t) worry about what others think.

All that matters is that God understands me.

One Response

  1. Sounds reasonable to me. We just need to worry about what God and our spouse thinks. At least that’s what I think. I haven’t quite gotten there yet myself though.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

