• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,509 hits

What’s Wrong With this Picture?

As I was watching America’s Got Talent last night, I began ruminating….

About what a cushy job it must be to get paid to judge people’s talents…

A job that is incredibly subjective.

Consider, for a moment, how much the current judges, Howard Stern, Sharon Osbourne, and Howie Mandel, are getting paid.

Millions.

Added to the millions they already have.

Now, contrast this to my job…

That of teaching children to read…

So that they can one day become productive members of society.

And I don’t make millions.

I’ll never see a million in my lifetime.

Rooster and I talked about this a while.

He mentioned how the people who earn between $30,000 and $80,000 are usually the people doing the kinds of jobs that have the potential to have lifelong effects on those who receive our services.

There’s something vastly wrong with this picture, if you ask me.

It kind of says where our priorities are, as evidenced by the picture below…

Now, don’t you go thinking that I don’t like my job because you know that I do, with all of my heart, that’s for sure!  .

But I’ll admit that another zero on the end of my salary wouldn’t hurt.

😉

5 Responses

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more, Jeannie! Just so you know…I happen to think that teaching is one of the most noble AND underpaid professions out there.

  2. I hear you girl! I’ve always wondered by a sports figure (mind you they are playing a game) make so much more than the leaders of our country. Something I’ll never understand! smh

  3. I definitely agree with you. It irritates me that our culture’s values have shifted so much that celebrities “salaries” are astronomical, and the average person can’t even make ends meet with one job. I guess the joke is on us because we are the ones who make them celebrities.

  4. No wonder kids now aspire to be ‘famous’.

    Thank you for your kind words and prayers regarding my niece. They are much appreciated.

  5. What’s even worse is the salaries of policemen. They risk their lives every day for a measly salary. something’s just not right.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

