• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 548 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 150,414 hits

A Big Milestone for a Non-Reader

One of the requirements of the Reading Framework that Florida reading teachers are required to structure our classrooms around is that students spend a minimum of 20-25 minutes of silent, sustained reading of self-selected text.

Thus, my students begin each class period with this reading.  We’ve worked our way up to thirty minutes.  That’s two and a half hours of reading each week!!

A lot of the students don’t like it, but they participate and record their summaries and connections on a form.

A couple of days ago, as I was walking around double-checking their work and talking to students about their reading, one of my students said, “Mrs. AuburnChick, do you know that this is the first book I’ve ever read all the way through?”

I was amazed!

He continued to explain me that because I require the reading in my class, he has grown to enjoy the activity!

What a milestone!

Struggling readers often don’t see the purpose for reading.  Because they cannot fully comprehend what they are reading, they just don’t do it.

So, hearing my student’s words was an incredible blessing to me and validation that the strategy is working…at least in one young person’s life.

 

3 Responses

  1. That is pretty awesome!

  2. There is so much truth in that statement. I believe the way we learn to love reading is to read. Its similar to learning to play the piano. You have to muddle thru initially, stumble over many notes, but if you keep practicing you improve and learn to enjoy it.

  3. And THAT is why you do what you do! Don’t you just love those moments?

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

