• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,869 hits

Creating a Caption – Figuratively Speaking

Thursday night, I took this picture of Gambit…

As I was going into school on Friday morning, I had an idea.

I put this picture on my Smartboard and added the following information…

First of all, please forgive the handwriting.  Somewhere along the line, I missed the “Teacher Handwriting” class.

For 3rd and 4th periods, I modified my instructions to tell students to 1) Write one complete sentence that 2) Uses one figurative language device from the list and then 3) Identify the device used.

Had I completely had my act together, I would have skipped step 3, had my students exchange their papers with someone from another table, and then had the students try to identify which figurative device their partners had created.

But I didn’t.

Still, the kids had fun.

I told my students that because Gambit is Rooster’s dog, I would allow Rooster to select a winning caption from each class and then a GRAND PRIZE WINNER.  I told my students that I would give each winner a prize.

A little motivation never hurt, eh?

😉

Rooster had a lot of fun reading the captions, and he had a difficult time selecting “winners.”  All of my students were winners in both of our books.

But winners were selected, and I thought I would share them with you:

1st Period – Two students tied!
“J” – I think he is as crazy as a werewolf.  (Rooster liked this because Gambit IS a little crazy.
“C” – “Get in the kitchen and make me a sandwich.  I’m so hungry I could eat a horse.” (Rooster liked this one because it hit on the stereotypical male mentality of telling a female to get him some food.)

3rd Period
“S” – Gambit was snoring as loud as screaming jets flying across the sky.  (Gambit is a VERY loud snorer!!)

4th Period
“S” – “Why is she bothering me.  I can never get any peace in this house!”

The GRAND PRIZE WINNER was…

“C” from 1st Period!!

Here’s the picture with the caption…

“Get in the kitchen and make me a sandwich. I’m so hungry I could eat a horse.”

“C” will get a super-size candy bar in addition to the small one I bought him as a “class winner.”

One Response

  1. That is GREAT!!!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

