• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,503 hits

A Day in the Life of a Reading Teacher

Ever wonder what it’s like to be a reading teacher?

Keep on reading to become enlightened.

On Friday, the Florida Comprehensive Achievement Test results were released to schools.

Teachers…namely reading teachers…held our breaths.

Principals printed long documents that listed individual students’ test scores and handed packets out to teachers.

I anxiously took mine from my friend, Barb, who is my school’s literacy coach.

Then, I sat in her office and read, name by name, looking for each of my students.

Let me explain what went through my mind as I searched.

First, I was nervous…almost to the point of being sick.

I had worked my tail off all year, as had my fellow teachers and the students in our classes.

I did not want the work to have been for naught.

I stopped at each name I recognized and looked across at the numbers.

I was thrilled to discover that several of my students had PASSED!

Not only did they pass, but one, in particular, had done so with flying colors.

One of the most important numbers listed beside each student’s name was in the learning gains column.

Nearly all of my students made learning gains…some by as much as three years’ worth!

Along with the joy came the sadness and frustration when I discovered that several I’d just known were going to pass missed the magic number…by one or two points.

It’s going to be difficult to share this news with those students.

By the end of the day, I was emotionally exhausted.

I was also incredibly proud…of the students as well as the five other reading teachers and our wonderful literacy coach.

Sure, we’re not solely responsible for preparing our students for FCAT.  Every single teacher joins together to help students succeed.

However, reading teachers are responsible for focusing on specific strategies…teaching our students why and how to use them to help with the difficult task of comprehending text.

I am so honored to be a part of something so important.  I feel like what I and my coworkers are doing IS making a difference.

I doubted myself before beginning this school year.

I wasn’t completely sure I was ready or would be able to teach reading successfully.

The Lord has shown me that while I wasn’t perfect at it, and that there are things I need to change next year, I am well-suited for it and have loads of potential.

The Lord also reminded me that He WILL equip those who trust in Him if they dedicate their lives to serving Him.

I certainly placed my trust in Him when I applied for and accepted this teaching job.

I am so glad I did and cannot wait for next year, when I can put into practice some of the lessons I learned this year along with the lessons I’m learning in my Reading Endorsement classes.

THAT is what it’s like in a day in the life of a reading teacher.

One Response

  1. Isn’t it crazy how test scores can still make us nauseous? With the new teacher evaluation in Tn., the TCAP scores affect everybody, even those of us who don’t have a real class.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

