• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,338 hits

Wednesday Hodgepodge – Hold the Cheese Please

Joyce is back with the Hodgepodge after taking some time off.  Please pray for her family as they continue to mourn the loss of her beloved niece.  Hugs to you, Joyce!!

Now, on to the questions!

1.  What’s something you miss about the 1980’s? If you’re too young to miss the 80’s how about the 90’s?

Gosh…there’s so much to miss about the 80’s!  I love that BIG hair was okay and, in fact, expected.  I miss such 80’s chick flicks as Pretty in Pink and The Breakfast Club.  I miss the Patrick Swayze of Dirty Dancing fame and Tom Cruise’s Top Gun beach volleyball scene (good clean fun).

Yeah.  The 80’s were good.

2.  Do you have a library card? If so, how often do you visit?

I actually have two library cards…one for Podunk, USA’s library and the other for the county library.  I don’t go very often any more…ever since the kids grew up.

3.  What’s the secret to success?

Gosh…I think we have to properly define success before we can figure out the secret to it.  I think the secret to success, though, is being content with where you are in life and giving your best effort to the task that’s in front of you.

4.  This is National Backyard Games week…what’s your favorite backyard game?

My favorite backyard game is Dodge the Poop.  See, I have four dogs but no grass.  Just going out into the yard is an adventure.  Managing to not step in poo is a game that rivals any pro sport!

5.  If I dropped by today what would I find on your coffee table?

My coffee table is pretty sparse.  I only have a few magazines, neatly stacked, and a few coasters.  I have four dogs…two of which are prone to pulling things off of tables and chewing on them.

My dining room table, on the  other hand, is an entirely different beast…

6.  Do you own a bicycle? When was the last time you rode a bicycle? Is that something you enjoy?

I actually do own a bicycle…an expensive one.  The Mr. and I bought our bikes over ten years ago.  We used to ride them a lot.  I do periodically get mine off of the bike rack and go around the neighborhood, but it’s been about a year or so since my last ride.

7.  What’s your favorite cheese?

I am a vegan.  The last time I ate cheese was over a year and a half ago.  I’d have to say that my favorite, when I was eating it, was provolone.

8.  My Random Thought

If you are a regular reader of mine, you probably know that Rooster graduated early…finished up in January.  He had the option of participating in a couple of graduation festivities.  He was also allowed to walk the stage.

He has decided to forgo all of the events…

Much to my chagrin.

Watching as my youngest child finishes this part of his life has been strange.

It’s also been especially bittersweet the last couple of weeks as I’ve watched my friends post pictures from Senior Recognition and Academic Awards.

I’ve NEVER missed events like these.

Last week, I ran by the school to pick up his yearbook, which they were holding for him.

I’ve spent six years as a mom to a child at that school, so I’m having a hard time not seeing some of the people who were integral in shaping my children’s educational lives.

This past weekend, our church honored the Seniors at one of the services and a luncheon afterward.

THAT was fun because we were included.

Rooster has opted not to walk the stage on graduation night.

THIS has broken my heart, because I really wanted and needed this event for closure to my baby’s youth.

But I keep reminding myself that it’s not about me.

It’s about my sweet boy who has always stayed out of trouble…never done drugs, drank, or acted inappropriately with the girls.

He’s a wonderful young man…eager to volunteer at church and ready to hit college with full gusto.

Next week, on the 30th, he’ll turn 18…on the same day that he WOULD have walked that stage.

I’m trying to plan somewhere else for us to be so we can honor our guy for who he is…a true blessing and joy.

7 Responses

  1. Congrats to your son!! He sounds like a great young man :).
    and LOL – dodge the poop! I used to do that with deer droppings, lol. That was mucho fun 🙂

  2. Big congrats for raising such a remarkable son and for all that he’s accomplished. However, it would make me sad, too, knowing that he’d opted not to walk on graduation night. It’s just one of those milestones that you don’t want to miss. At the same time, you are so right about it being about him and what he wants…and I admire you a lot for that. For me, the 80’s were some of the best years of my life!

  3. I understand the disappointment but you are wise to look at the big picture. He probably feels like he’s been done for a while now.

    #4-ha! And I liked the movie references in #1. I was thinking Breakfast Club too.

  4. Our youngest will finish up college in the fall & doesnt want to walk in the Spring for graduation. See, you’re better then me – I told her that she had to walk for us – we didnt care what she wanted 🙂 haha!

  5. We could play that backyard game too! haha

  6. Those are great movies! I am not vegan, but since I am off of cow’s milk and eggs I usually look for vegan items 🙂

  7. Aaaw, I hate that he decided to not walk across the stage with his classmates. OS wasn’t going to walk for college, but CH told him he was. We wanted physical proof that he did it! 🙂
    Love your backyard game! With Laika being a big dog, I think we’re going to have a miniature version of it!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

