• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 550 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,119 hits

Who Wants to Play a Game of Jeopardy?

Today, my students are playing a game to review for a test on the book Life in Prison, which I recently finished reading aloud to them.

The book was written by Stanley “Tookie” Williams.  In it, he describes the harsh realities of life in prison and, more specifically, life on Death Row.  His goal when he wrote it was to discourage children from joining gangs and committing crimes that would land them in prison.

I wanted to find a fun way to review for the test, so creating a Jeopardy game seemed like the perfect thing!

Here’s a screen shot of what my game looks like.

You can access the game here.

The website is pretty neat.  You enter your own categories, questions, and answers, and the site creates your game!  What fun!!

My plan is to hand out small whiteboards and Expo markers to each group.  Students will work with their groups to answer the questions correctly by writing down the answers and “revealing” their answers.  The winner will get a prize (think I’ll have to run to Walmart to get some candy).

It doesn’t matter if you home school or teach Sunday School.  You could do something like this for a lot of different situations!!

From one teacher to another (we, as adults, are all teachers at one time or another)…cheers!

2 Responses

  1. Very cool! I’m going to bookmark that site. Could you use it on a smartboard?

  2. I love this idea and I think it could work great in my Sunday School Class. Thank you.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

