• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,101 hits

Working Holiday

Yesterday, my students and I discussed what constitutes an oxymoron.  I showed them a list of examples.  One of the phrases was “working holiday.”

I could have shown them this picture to give them a visual to connect with…

Yep.

That’s what I brought home with me…nearly 200 assignments to grade.

Sort of.

The kids took a test using my SMART responders, which I absolutely LOVE because the computer grades the tests for me thanks to a handy little thing called an ANSWER KEY!!

Still, I had to go through and enter the grades into my digital gradebook.

I also had to grade my students’ weekly Text Connections Sheets and their Life in Prison question packets, which they completed as I read the book aloud.

Added to that were their Figurative Language booklets…a summative, project-based assessment for this unit.  Nearly half of my students turned in the project early.

I’m grateful, though, because that means that I won’t have many items to grade next week…just three more assignments, including the final exam.

Fortunately, I graded everything, only using up five hours of my holiday weekend.

Later today or tomorrow, I’m going to cook up their final exam and then create a few review exercises in my SMART Notebook.

Sigh.

Six and a half more days until I’m done grading.  Seven and a half more days until I am completely free (loosely typed, of course) for the summer.

One Response

  1. Hope it all goes smoothly for you.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

