• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,101 hits

Another Memorable Hodgepodge

Although I worked a bit this past weekend, I did manage to find some time to relax and play with the family.  Now, it’s back to reality.  It’s also time to get back to the Hodgepodge!  Link up with Joyce to play along!

1.  What can the average citizen do to honor a military veteran and/or those currently serving?

As a teacher, I believe it’s my duty to teach my students about the sacrifices that those who served and those who are serving have and are making to guarantee the freedom we enjoy in this country.  Too often, I see apathy on the faces of my young charges, and this saddens me.  I think that as a whole, the younger generation is not as patriotic as the generations that went before us.  Passing on the legacy…that’s how I, personally, can honor the military.

2.  Besides a flag what is something you own that is red, white and blue?

I don’t own many things that have all three colors.  I do have a t-shirt I bought at Old Navy that’s patriotic…with all of the above colors.

3.  Does love really conquer all?

Yes.  Jesus’s love for us conquered the penalty of sin.  I think that about sums things up.

4.  Strawberry shortcake or blueberry pie?

Strawberry shortcake, please.  I loathe the smell and taste of blueberries.

5.  Do you share personal stuff with your hairdresser?

I just got a hairdresser a few weeks ago.  She’s the gal who’s been cutting the Mr’s and Rooster’s hair for quite some time now, so she pretty much knows the whole family.  I’d say that I talk about some personal stuff, meaning teaching and kid stuff, but not private stuff…the kind that I talk about to Super Sis or my closest friends.  First of all, my hairdresser is someone I plan on visiting once every six weeks or so.  Not that I don’t feel a connection, because my hairdresser is an awesome lady.  But still, to share personal things in a public venue like a salon…I don’t think it’s very appropriate.

6.  Does money lead to selfishness?

Money can lead to selfishness if one doesn’t keep him/herself grounded on the Lord and those less fortunate.  This can be especially difficult if one has gone through a period of financial drought (loss of job, etc.) and suddenly finds him/herself with a little extra to spend.  I guess it’s all about balance.

7.  What piece of furniture in your home most needs replacing or refinishing?

My furniture is starting to get old.  I think that what needs replacing first is my couch and loveseat, which I’ve had for over ten years.  When we first got it, we had one dog.  Now, we have four.  The couches are dirty, chewed up, and basically gross.  Thanks to the slipcovers I purchased in November (right before having company over for Thanksgiving), I’m adding a few more years of life to this furniture.

8.  My Random Thought

Today is my youngest, Rooster’s, 18th birthday.

It’s such a momentous occasion that I’ve blogged twice today.

Still, I think that this milestone deserves some space in my Random Thought area.

As the time draws nearer for Rooster to leave for college, he’s busy…gone a lot on various outings with church and school friends.

The Mr. and I were running errands the other day, and we marveled at the fact that we now have grown children.

Pray tell…how did this happen?

Where did the years go?

My friend, Christina, suggested (during a phone conversation yesterday) that the Mr. must have had this child before I married him because surely I’m not old enough to have a youngest child who’s 18.

Yeah.

I echo her sentiments.

If you’re reading this, and you’re just starting out with young children, let me offer this piece of advice.

Cherish EVERY MOMENT.

Long nights are only long for a short period.

You’ll miss them (yes you will) when your children are old enough to puke their guts out without your help…when they don’t want to wake you up in the middle of the night to let you know they are sick.

Sad, but true.

Enjoy the loud craziness of a house full of your children and their friends.  Before you know it, they’ll be bringing grown-up college friends home with them…only staying a few days before heading out again.

Sad, but true.

Enjoy the fact that your refrigerator and pantry seem to empty out five minutes after you’ve grocery shopped.  One day all too soon, it will be you and your Honey trying to figure out where to eat for dinner because you don’t feel like cooking for two.

This part isn’t really sad because it means fewer dishes to wash.

😉

Memorial Day in 1994 was especially memorable in the AuburnChick household.  It was the day we welcomed the most precious guy into the world.

7 Responses

  1. Loved your answer to #1…I agree! Happy Birthday to Rooster : )

  2. Good answers to some good questions this week. My baby girl turns 18 in just a few months. I can’t believe it.

  3. This post had me smiling to crying in a snap. You hit the nail on the head with the grown children. I love it when the boys bring friends home, even if it’s just for a minute or to eat dinner.

  4. So true about the children growing up, and then missing the times when they were small. I agree. BUT, I enjoy each stage of their lives and I do get joy in seeing the young adults they turn out to be. I’m sure you do too. Happy birthday to your son!

  5. My baby is circling in on 18 too, and I feel a lot of what you are feeling. I had a friend lament all the toys all over her house and all I could think was that it has been years since I’ve had toys around!

  6. I think all us pet owners know exactly the piece of furniture that needs sprucing up 🙂
    Happy Birthday to your boy!!!

  7. I completely agree about blueberries – except in muffins! That is the only place for them in my kitchen!

    18 is a big step – and we have two who will be turning that in a few months… where has the time gone!

    Hopping by from my Hodge Podge!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

