• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,319 hits

Favorite Memories of Third and Fourth Period Classes

Today, I’ll bid farewell to my third and fourth period classes because tomorrow is a half day, and I won’t see them.

I thought I’d share a few musings about each class.

First of all, third period.

This was always my largest class, so at first, it was a little intimidating to teach.

The class was, at first, my second wildest class.  Leaving them with a sub ensured disaster.

This class was the one that changed the least throughout the year.  I had a few students filter in and out, but for the most part, at least fifteen of the kids became my core group, staying with me from August through June.

This class was comprised of mostly boys, which I didn’t notice until my friend, Barb, pointed it out to me in January.  No wonder they were crazy!

I had four basketball players, two football players, one cheerleader, and one baseball player in this class.

Yes, they had a lot of energy…

And a lot of hormones.

With only six girls, you could say that the guys were in happy land.

This class became my wildest class in January.  Don’t ask me why.  However, they settled down a bit when I started stations.  Finally, they were all busy…all the time.  That’s just what they needed.

Doing group things with this class was challenging.  What I could do with other classes was twice as loud and three times as difficult to manage because my boys were so active.

You should have seen the time I tried to have us do a game in the hallway.

Yeah.

This was a one-time thing.

Though they were difficult to manage, they were the most competitive.  They LOVED my Jeopardy review games!

This class also responded well to music.  I started using a lot of music during the last two months, and it was the way to go.

Another thing about this class was their sense of humor.  They could tell Yo Mama jokes like nobody’s business.  Unfortunately, they used these jokes to put each other down, which I deplored.  Try as I might, I don’t think I succeeded in teaching these students how to have empathy for one another.  I’ll think about this during the summer.  I wonder if it’s a boy thing…simply the way they interact with one another.

Now, on to fourth period.

As parents, we’re not supposed to have favorites, right?  However, we can say that certain personalities mesh better together, right?

The same goes with teachers.

When you put twenty young adults with all of their crazy lives and hormones into the same room, you’re either going to get lucky or you’re not.

With this class, I got lucky.

It was a class primarily composed of females.  At first, we had two guys.  Then one of them moved, so we only had one left.  We acquired a few more boys at the beginning of the second semester.

“A” was a burly football player with long hair.

He liked pink and wasn’t afraid to admit it.

We loved him for that.  In fact, though “A” gave me a lot of problems, he and I shared a birthday, so I couldn’t help but like him a bit more for that.

My fourth period class was my easiest class all year long.  It started off fairly small with about fourteen or fifteen students, but by the end of the year, I had twenty.

Every new student was initially angry about changing classes but ultimately happy with the class at large.  This group supported each other 100%.  Each new student was indoctrinated into Mrs. AuburnChick’s way of doing things, and the students shined.

I had an autistic student in this class, and I placed him at the same table that had a tenth grade girl who I’d identified as nurturing and a gal who was loud but loveable.  He blossomed, coming out of his shell so much that he actually participated in class discussions.

These students had huge learning gains on state exams, and I am confident that it was because they were so supportive of each other and respectful of the learning process.  In fact, I chose this class for both of the observations that my principal made…observations that went quite well.

This class had three band kids, one football player, and one cheerleader.  It was a loud crew that quieted quickly when asked to.

One of things I’ll remember about this class is one young lady.  She’d started out in my first period class, got moved to third, and then moved to my fourth period.  She moved so often to accommodate other issues in her schedule, but she requested that she stay in my reading class because she loved me so much.  My fourth period class embraced her…something she really needed after transferring first from a different school and then in and out of my other classes.

This is the class that I could have frank talks with without all of the immature giggling that happened in my other classes.  This class taught me about weaves (we’re not talking the yarn kind), about how calling a black person “black” is preferable to being called “African American” because, in their frank words, “You are white, we are black.  We’re also Americans.  Why qualify that by adding ‘African’ in front of it.”

One of the funniest things that we shared in this class was an inside joke (actually we had several) about Michael Jackson and one of my students, who I’ll call “P.”

“P” might as well stand for Precious because she truly is one of the most precious people you will ever meet.  She has fingernails that are about three inches long and always painted fancy.  Her daddy is a preacher.

She is the most respectful young lady I’ve ever met.  She’d rather do the pee-pee dance than interrupt you to ask for the bathroom key.

She also loves Michael Jackson…to the point where she almost cries if talk turns to him.  We’ve had MANY laughs about MJ, as we call him.

I guess you could say that I enjoyed teaching this class.

😉

As I say goodbye to both of these classes, I’ll do so with a smile on my face…grateful that we all made it through the year…happy that I won’t have to pull out any discipline referral sheets for some of my more “energetic” students…thankful for a heart filled with memories of these darling young people.

2 Responses

  1. As I sit here drinking coffee on my first official day off work I am grinning ear to ear reading about your classes and the characters who make them what they are. I think any teacher who reads this can relate. There will always be a “3rd Period” and fortunately, by some miracle, a 4th Period. Hope your last day with these two classes was great. Looking forward to your posts on the other periods.

  2. Thanks for giving us a peek into a couple of your classes!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

