• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,352 hits

Wednesday Hodgepodge – Graduation Style

Oh glorious day!  It’s Wednesday…the final work Wednesday for me this school year!  I’ve gotta put in one more day at school…finish packing up my room and turn in my gradebook and keys.  Then, I should be FREE (that’s really a relative term given all that I’m doing this summer).

Meanwhile, we’ve got Joyce’s Hodgepodge…the one constant in the week!  Yay!  Join in, play along, have some fun!  I promise that I should be able to visit a lot more of my Hodgepodging friends now that school is out!  Woo Hoo!

1.  How many students were in your high school graduating class? Did you know most, if not all of them?

When you grow up in a small town, your graduating class is small.  I graduated in 1988.  There were 18 of us.  Most of the kids had gone to school together since kindergarten.  I joined them when I was in sixth grade.  We knew everyone…their middle names…their mamas…and we even dated their brothers or sisters.  It was a very small world.  By the way, one student is missing from the picture.  I believe he copped an attitude right before it was taken and refused to join in.

2.  What was the last thing you photographed?

I last photographed my classroom, which is in the process of being packed up.  By the time you’re reading this, I’m probably finished or very close to it.

3.  Pickles-love ’em or loathe ’em? If its love what’s something you eat that needs a pickle?

I LOVE pickles!!  I’ll eat them with anything, but burgers…vegan friendly, of course, are so much better with dill slices!!

4.  What’s a stereotype you seem to perpetuate without meaning to?

The stereotype of a dumb blonde is something I seem to perpetuate on a daily basis.  I don’t know why, but I get so tongue tied sometimes!  I am much better at expressing myself either in front of my students or in writing.  In front of other adults…not so much.  Thank you social awkwardness and shyness.

5.  Ever been horse back riding? If so is it something you enjoy? If not, do you have any interest? Did you watch the Kentucky Derby? Will you be watching the last leg of the Triple Crown this weekend?

I went horseback riding when I was a teenager.  I was sitting behind my friend, and the field was uneven.  We nearly fell off, and it scared me a lot.  Still, I find horses to be beautiful creatures, and I love them, as I do most animals.  I will be watching the final race in the Triple Crown this weekend.  I watched the first two.  What nail biters they were!

6.  What’s your favorite ‘wedding’ movie?

I am such a non-romantic.  Honestly, real life just isn’t like that.  With that said, I love the movie Thirteen Going on 30.  The couple does get married at the end, so this counts, right?

7.  What is one ‘tourist attraction’ in the USA that you’d like to see in person?

Oh my…I can’t choose just one! I’ve been blessed to visit different areas of the country.  I’ve been to the Alamo.  I’ve seen Niagra Falls (from the Canadian side).  I’ve been to Alaska and seen Hubbard Glacier.

I’m an avid fan and student of history.  I’d love to see Mount Rushmore.  I would like to visit the Amish country.  I’ve already been to Washington D.C., but I wouldn’t mind going again and spending several days there.  I was last there as a teenager and didn’t fully appreciate it.

Mostly, though, I would like to take a tour of of the various battlefields from the Revolutionary War but, more importantly, the Civil War.  I want to visit Gettysburg.

I really need to win the lottery.

8.  My Random Thought

I’m peeved.

Yesterday, the Mr. called me to tell me that he’d received an email from our internet provider.  Apparently, someone downloaded an illegal copy of a song, violating copyright infringement laws.  I assured him that it wasn’t me, and Rooster also stated that he had not.  I called my provider to clear this up.  They added a note to my account.

I feel incredibly violated.  I had a password on my router.  Still, this person…probably someone young given the music’s genre, had incredible nerve to do something like this.  Not only that, but the person downloaded another song while I was on the phone with my provider!

Grrr.

I’ve locked down my router even further and taken additional steps to keep the lawbreaker out.

What a downer for my otherwise great day.

9 Responses

  1. Congrats on surviving another school year! I could not imagine only having 18 people in my class. My daughter’s middle school just graduated 118.

  2. Yikes about that last bit. I couldn’t begin to know how to do that! I’ve been to many of the battlefields as I’ve lived on or near the East Coast/South most of my life. Gettysburg is a great trip…Happy Summer to you : )

  3. WOW… I didnt even know people actually got on that (illegal downloading) … that’s scary someone linked in on your router.

    I’ve been catching 13 going on 30 on tv.. forgot how cute it was. Love Jennifer Garner!

  4. Wow. I had no idea that the internet provider would do that! (And, as I was writing this, I glanced up at Rebecca’s comment and realized I was saying pretty much the same thing!)

  5. So good to read your answers today. What a bummer! Some folks just do not have enough to do. I don’t think I realized that you were a teacher. Enjoy your summer!

  6. Ooo! Washington DC! I should have put that as my place to see. I’ve always wanted to go 🙂

  7. Gettysburg is awesome! I want to go back. It’s so cool to think you’re standing where Abraham Lincoln stood (at least to me). Love Washington DC too!

    I’m going to have to get hubby to check our router and make sure that doesn’t happen to us. Thanks for the heads-up on that.

  8. Wow about the person downloading a song. People amaze me. Yay for summer and hope you are able to enjoy it and rest in prep for next year 🙂

  9. Ooh, I didn’t think about the Amish Country – I would love that too! Just feels like it would be so serene and simple… a welcome break from the craziness we live in! And blech about the person hacking into your router… NOT cool…. Kudos to your Internet provider for being diligent though… hope it gets figured out soon!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

