• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,869 hits

Diving into Summer and the Hodgepodge

It’s time for the Hodgepodge!  I know of no better way to mark the middle of the week than with Joyce’s meme!  Thanks, Joyce!

1.  In what way are you your own worst enemy?

In my desire for perfection, I often over-think things, causing myself much angst in the process.  Oy!

2.  Jacques Cousteau’s birthday was Monday, June 11th…ever been scuba diving? Is that something you’d like to try? What’s your favorite ‘under the sea’ creature?

I’ve never been scuba diving and I really do not have a desire to do so.  I’ve been snorkeling a time or two and enjoyed that.  With that said, I find underwater creatures to be very imaginative expressions of God’s creativity.  I’m not sure I have a favorite…maybe whales?  They’re huge animals yet intriguing.

3.  On a scale of 1-10, how comfortable are you in and around the water? (1=not at all, 10=very) Do you know how to swim and if so how and when did you learn?

I’m very comfortable around water.  I’d rate myself a 10.  I don’t remember not being able to swim.  I took formal lessons when I was a teenager, but that was where I learned how to do strokes properly.  I’d been keeping myself afloat for years before those lessons.

4.  What’s something you do to motivate yourself to tick an item off your to-do list?

Hmmm…tough question.  Sometimes, if I have a big assignment or pressing deadline, I’ll tell myself that I can play Bejeweled Blitz or watch a DVR’d show when I finish my task.

5.  What makes a good neighbor? Are you a good neighbor?

A good neighbor is one who is courteous…who doesn’t start up the lawn mower at o’dark’thirty on a Saturday morning…who doesn’t leave parked cars in front of other people’s houses for days, weeks, and months on end (this was done to me by a former neighbor)…who keeps the trash can put away after trash day…who keeps up the yard.

For the most part, I am a good neighbor.  My yard is of some concern, but my neighbors know that I have the ability, just not the time.  I am, however, working to rectify this and am getting estimates from landscaping companies.  Wish me luck.  The first company I called did not show yesterday.  The guy sounded a little sketchy when I’d called to set up the appointment.  Good riddance.  I’ll make sure I tell EVERYONE not to call this company in the future.

6.  Who loads the dishwasher at your house? Is there a right way and a wrong way?

We don’t use our dishwasher, except as a holding place for the overflow of just-washed dishes that won’t fit in the drainer.  Several years ago, I read a study about how bad it is for people who have weak immune systems to eat from dishes and cutlery that have been put through the dishwasher.  The Mr. suffers from Crohn’s Disease, and I went through a spell where I had a hard time getting rid of a nasty cough, so I decided at that point to stop using the dishwasher.

Whoever washes the dishes loads them in the dishwasher if need be.  Lately, that someone has been me, although very rarely since I pretty much quit cooking.

7.  You know it’s summer when_________________________.

You know it’s summer when you see me wearing a pair of shorts.  I am such a cold-natured person that I usually wear blue jeans.  Hence, it’s definitely summer if I bare my legs by wearing shorts.

8.  My Random Thought

I don’t know if you remember when I fixed my bathroom faucet a couple of weeks ago.  I blogged about it here.

Though I fancy myself the female equivalent of Tim the Toolman, I ran into a bit of a problem afterward.

Oh, and for the record, perhaps I am more like Tim than I originally thought.

😀

So here’s what happened.

A few days after the fix, the Mr. told me that he thought his sink was leaking underneath.

Great.

It was…

Badly.

I pulled everything out and took a look.

I still wasn’t sure what was going on, so I took apart the cold water handle, reseated the new washer I’d recently put in, and put everything back together.

Still, the water dripped underneath.

After trying this and that, I figured out that the leak was coming from the center part of the faucet.

The bad thing was that I had no idea how to take it apart.

I didn’t know what to do, so I put everything aside, left a bucket under the counter, and ruminated.

Finally exasperated that the Mr. was using my sink all the time, I called a plumber.

After taking apart the faucet, he said that a small part was broken.

We decided that I had probably broken it when I’d grabbed onto the center spigot, using it as leverage when tightening the hardware on the cold water handle.

Oops.

I wrote my $186 check, paying him for his time, and he promised to call me when he found a matching replacement.

Well, I got that call yesterday morning at 8am.

He’d found the faucet…

In Virginia.

Because the style is over nine years old, the price wasn’t going to be cheap.

Are you ready for this?

$500.

For this…

I kid you not.

Oh, but the plumber’s supervisor was willing to apply the money I’d paid the day before toward this cost without charging me more to install it.

So, for about $366, I could have a new faucet.

I decided to call the Mr. first.

He was aghast and said that he’d never be able to use the sink without being angry.

Me either.

We decided to shop for new faucets at a local hardware store and try to install them ourselves.

Then, the weirdest thing happened.

While on the phone with my friend, Christina, who I speak with almost every day, I told her this story and walked into the bathroom, casually testing out the spigot as I told her the story.

Hmmm…it wasn’t moving back and forth like it had done before the plumber came.

I guess he’d tightened up loose screws.

For fun, I ran the water.

THE SINK DIDN’T LEAK!

Oh my gosh!

I ran the water for a minute or two.

STILL NO LEAK!

The stopper, though wouldn’t go up when I pulled on the bar, so I got underneath the sink, taking something apart, rethreading the stopper, and putting everything back together.

Yes, I’m good like that.

We’ve been testing out the sink ever since, and THERE’S STILL NO LEAK!!

Praise the Lord!

We’re holding our breaths but hopeful that we won’t have to shell out any more money to fix this sink.

8 Responses

  1. Kudoes to you, Mrs. Tim Taylor! That faucet, while very pretty, is certainly not $500 of beauty, nor $366. I’m praising the Lord with you because you didn’t even need to spend $10 on a new faucet! Glad the leak is gone…but funny the drippy water story fits in to the HP so well today:) .

  2. Yay on the sink! Things can be so crazy like that.

  3. Wow! $500! So glad everything worked out! Loved your answers to the good neighbor question as well as the motivation question 🙂

  4. Impressive. You are my plumbing hero! 🙂
    That is an outrageous amount of money to spend on a faucet. Unbelievable!

  5. Your plumbing skills are impressive! I’d never even attempt a plumbing repair.

  6. YIKES!!!! Now I’m gonna have to rethink dish washers!!!!!

  7. It’s so funny that you compare yourself to Tim the Toolman…I did the same thing recently. Abby and I were home alone…Chris was on the road and Britt was still at college. I learned that our front door dead lock was no longer working, so we went to Home Depot and bought a new one. Came home and installed it ourselves and it works like a charm. Chris even bragged on us! Big kudos to you for your awesome plumbing skills!

  8. Wow – You are the Fix-It Gal! I am impressed!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

