• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 550 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,119 hits

Battery Explosion

A couple of weeks ago, I had to order a new laptop battery for my Macbook Pro.

I believe that my battery was the culprit of the issues I’d recently been having…my hard drive shutting down at random times, even completely crashing once so that I had to reinstall the operating system.  More recently, when I couldn’t click my built-in mouse button, I knew I had to replace the battery.

The last time I did so was three years ago.  That was when my entire casing was bulging.  The laptop had to go to Apple Care Support for a complete overhaul, including a fix for the casing.

At least this time, I caught the problem before things got too bad.

The new battery arrived within two days, and I was set to go.

Meanwhile, I’d set the old battery aside, unsure what to do with it…where to recycle it.

Then, a couple of days ago, I happened to glance down at the old battery…

Seeing this…

Pretty scary, eh?

That thing was inside of my laptop.

Can you imagine the damage it would have done to the rest of my computer?

Much like a mama “knowing” that her baby is sick long before the symptoms confirm it, I’m glad I was attune to my electronic baby and able to remedy the situation before things got lethal.

2 Responses

  1. Yikes! I had no idea the battery could cause problems like that. My Mac has been getting very very slow and randomly the screen goes black. I have no idea what is causing this and don’t know a very much about computers. Maybe I should check out the battery.

  2. As you know, my MacBook needed a new battery recently, too. It was also three years old, so that must not have been a good year for batteries! Glad that you are up and running again.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

