• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,098 hits

Dang, I Hate That

I think I’m going to have to stop being such a fix-it-myself kind of person because lately, whenever I try to tackle challenges on my own, something worse happens afterward.

I also need to stop being so anal about stuff.

Case in point.

Yesterday, I called my friend, Christina, for our daily chat.

I used the house phone.  I wanted to save my cell phone battery.

Why, I have no idea because I had no plans for getting out of my pajamas since I had nowhere to go.

After hanging up, I noticed that the display on my house phone said “New Voicemail.”

Really?

I don’t have voicemail on my home line.  That’s what the answering machine is for.

I’d had this problem a few months ago after I purchased my new phones.  A couple of calls to Comcast later, and the problem was resolved thanks to a helpful gal who took some code off of my account.

The problem reappeared yesterday morning, and I hated seeing that message on the display (that’s where the anal part comes in).

So I decided to try to fix things myself…

By resetting my modem.

After that, I couldn’t access the internet or use the home phone.

I tried everything in my tech know-how brain, but nothing worked, so I called for technical assistance.

The gal walked me through a hard reset of the modem and router…basically unplugging EVERYTHING…but her fixes didn’t fix anything.

That’s when she said that she’d have to send a technician out to fix it.

Unfortunately, the technician can’t come until this morning.

BIG BUMMER.

I thought I’d be okay since I have a data plan on my cell phone.

That’s all fine and dandy when I’m out and about, but the service is c-r-a-p-p-y inside my house.

Not only did I drain my phone’s battery twice while trying to play Bejeweled Blitz, but I couldn’t upload new pictures of my pups to Facebook.

Yes.

I know.

Tragedy.

Seriously, though, things came to a head when my eBay auction drew to a close.  I was selling the last of the three phones that I’d replaced with our iPhones.

I needed to print my shipping label, and doing so from my phone was not a great option.

That’s when I used the brains the good Lord blessed me with and found a place with WiFi…

Things must truly have been dire for me to get out of my pajamas to hoof it down the road, don’t you think.

The Cookie Crumble Frappucchino (soy-based, of course) helped console me.

😉

Yeah, my Facebook status said it all:

Dang. I need Internet service to finish out a sale I just made on eBay. I really hate that I will need to go to Starbucks to use its wireless Internet since mine won’t be fixed until tomorrow. Really hate that.

5 Responses

  1. Too funny! Hope you get it all fixed soon.

  2. I admire your attempt. I lack the ‘fix it’ gene : )

  3. I hope it’s fixed now. If you need more help feel free to contact our team we are here to help.

    Thanks,

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Corp.
    National Customer Operations
    We_can_help@cable.comcast.com

  4. Thank goodness for Starbucks! 😀

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

