• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,101 hits

Dementor’s Kiss

I’m slowly reading my way through the Harry Potter series.  I’m about halfway finished with the third book…

Monday evening, as I neared the end of Chapter 12, I had to pause and do some thinking.

This is the part of the book in which Harry is trying to find a way to fight off the dementors that have been torturing him.  The dementors serve as guards of Azkaban, the prison where wayward witches and wizards serve out their sentences.

The dementors are, true to the definition of the word, demented…torturing their charges in unimaginable ways.

The dementors have been sent to Hogwarts, where Harry attends school, to hunt for an escaped criminal, Sirius Black, who is supposed to be after Harry.

Every time Harry comes across a dementor, he hears his dead parents’ voices and faints.

Professor Lupin tries to help Harry fight off the dementors with a charm, and in the process, the professor explains the ultimate effect of the torture…the Dementor’s Kiss.

“They call it the Dementor’s Kiss,” said Lupin, with a slightly twisted smile.  “It’s what dementors do to those they wish to destroy utterly.  I suppose there must be some kind of mouth under there, because they clamp their jaws upon the victim and – and suck out his soul.”

Harry accidentally spat out a bit of butterbeer.

“What – they kill – ?”

“Oh no,” said Lupin.  “Much worse than that.  You can exist without your soul, you know, as long as your brain and heart are still working.  But you’ll have no sense of self anymore, no memory, no…anything.  There’s no chance at all of recovery.  You’ll just exist.  As an empty shell.  And your soul is gone forever…lost.”

Lupin then explains that this is the fate that awaits Sirius Black.

Harry sat stunned for a moment at the idea of someone having their soul sucked out through their mouth.  But then he thought of Black.

“He deserves it,” he said suddenly.

“You think so?” said Lupin lightly.  “Do you really think anyone deserves that?”

“Yes,” said Harry defiantly.  “For…for some things…”

I read those words and could not help but think about what awaits us at the end of our lives.

For those of us who have accepted Jesus Christ as our Savior, heaven and eternity with God is what we’ll be privileged to experience.

However, those who die without faith in Jesus Christ as the risen Savior, will be like those prisoners of Azkaban…living as if their souls have been sucked out of their bodies…living only as shells for all of eternity.

Perhaps there will be memories…of loved ones who did commit their lives to serving Jesus Christ and are, thus, living out eternity in heaven.

Perhaps there will be memories of lost chances…times when the Gospel was presented but the truth rejected.

I cannot imagine living out eternity in such a way, and it saddens me for those who will.

While I do not judge, my heart feels as if it’s been ripped in half as I consider that, most likely, my own dad will be one of those who won’t be in heaven to greet me one day.

To my knowledge, he never trusted in the Lord and even outright rejected God’s Word (the Bible) during a conversation we had.

It broke my heart to hear it, but it was his choice.

Just as it’s everyone’s choice.

Hard truths but sound theology.

God demands payment for sin.

There was only ONE who fulfilled that requirement.

Do we, as Professor Lupin asked, deserve our fate?

It doesn’t matter what we think.  It’s what God decrees, and He’s in charge.

Food for thought…

Via Harry Potter.

Who would have thunk it, eh?

2 Responses

  1. Good stuff right there…

    there’s so much in Harry Potter that I can take as a spiritual thought – especially words from Dumbledore…

    But this is excellent…

    breaks my heart as well to think of the family members I have – or even more so – the kids I try to teach – that wont accept Jesus…

  2. I’m so thankful that Jesus was willing to die to pay for my sins and everyone else too!

    I never would have thought you could get this out of Harry Potter. Very good!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

