• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 546 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,103 hits

I Missed My Calling

Yesterday, while watching the Today Show, I saw the video you’ll find at the end of this post.

As I watched, I realized that I have, obviously, missed my calling.

I am of the generation who grew up learning how to type on manual typewriters.

At my school, typing was taught by a former military guy, Mr. H., and boy, was he tough!

We were NEVER allowed to look at the keys while we typed, and doing so was sure to incur his wrath.

He stood behind us while we typed, increasing the stress factor.

I’ll tell you something, though.

Tough as his methods were, they worked.

There was not a hunt-and-peck person to be found when we walked out of that classroom door for the final time that year.

Even the boys, who struggled in academic classes, could type their own papers without looking at the keys.

I loved my typing class.

I excelled in it…so much so, that I attended and won the state typing championship in 1987.

Yes, I was nerdy like that.

My typing skills have served me well over the years, but I never, in my wildest dreams, imagined that I could have combined my love for music with my typing skills, as seen in the video below.

The video just goes to show you that you can use just about anything to make music.

As you watch, pay attention to the looks on the faces of the conductor and other musicians.

Too priceless!

Oh, and the guy playing the typewrite??  What a ham!

This ranks as one of my favorite videos!!

Enjoy!

3 Responses

  1. We saw that video & laughing about the guy’s facial expressions – he made it so fun!!!!

  2. I remember typing drills, too, and I loved them. Nothing can compare to a classroom of typewriters all in unison. My typing teacher had the class type to music to develop a smooth rhythm to our typing. All of the typewriters in my school had caps on the keys, so there was no reason to peek. However, a large chart was on display at the front of the room with the keyboard. When typing was phased out for “keyboarding,” at the school where I worked, I snagged one of the old typing books – the kind that was propped up on a metal stand/easel. How I wish I had one of the stands, too.

    Did your class have fun challenges to create pictures using tabs and specific keys?

    Typing is a skill that has served me well.

  3. He reminded me of Mr. Bean 🙂

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

