• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 546 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,103 hits

Cooking Up a New Batch

How many of you were enjoying parades and barbecues on the 4th of July?

Not this kid.

Nope.

I did venture out, stupidly braving a bad thunderstorm, to use a $3.50 Ulta coupon to pick up three bottles of nail polish (feeding my addiction) that were on sale B2G1.

While at the mall, I also stopped by the coastal market and picked up my favorite Balsamic Black Bean Dip.

When I got home, I decided it was time to cook up a new batch of laundry detergent.

You might recall that it was two years ago that I blogged about making my own detergent and fabric softener.  I reviewed my results here.

I could not believe that my tub of detergent lasted over two years…through four people doing multiple loads of laundry each week.

Well, I guess it was more like three people since Chicky was away at college much of that time.  Still, she was home last summer.

I have had to make more of the fabric softener, but the detergent really stretched itself out.

I figure it must have cost a mere penny or two per load.

Pretty good, eh?

Here’s the new batch, all ready for the laundry room…

It wasn’t a bad way to spend the 4th…not bad at all!

One Response

  1. Sounds like the perfect 4th to me! I can never pass up an opportunity to use an ULTA coupon…I completely get it! 😉

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

