• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,319 hits

A Very Summery Hodgepodge

The Hodgepodge is back after taking a break to celebrate Independence Day.  I, for one, am thrilled because I really was sad last week when I didn’t have any questions to mull over.  🙂   I always appreciate Joyce’s fun and thought-provoking questions!  Play along by answering the questions on your own blog and then linking up with Joyce.

1.  How often do you check the weather? How do you check the weather?

Hmmm…tough question, actually.  When a hurricane is on its way, I check almost hourly for updates.  I try to watch at least the weather on the news, although during the school year, I frequently miss the news because I’m so busy.  During the winter, I’ll do a hand check on the window to gauge how cold it is.  Honestly, though, I always plan for rain…living in Florida and all…and keep an umbrella with me most of the time.  As far as temps go, it’s either hot, hot, hot or cold, cold, cold.  We don’t get much in-between.

2.  Since this is volume 84 of the Wednesday Hodgepodge, and since I got married in 1984, and since I’m attending a wedding this weekend it only seems right to post something related here.

Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance. If the dispositions of the parties are ever so well known to each other or ever so similar beforehand, it does not advance their felicity in the least. They always continue to grow sufficiently unlike afterwards to have their share of vexation; and it is better to know as little as possible of the defects of the person with whom you are to pass your life.

Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Agree or Disagree. Why?

Wow!  Can I just say that I’m feeling pretty stupid right now because honestly, I’m not sure I even understand what Ms. Austen is saying?!

Yeah, and I call myself a reading teacher.

Ok.  From what I can tell, the meaning of the passage may be that you’re lucky if your marriage is a happy one because whether or not you and your spouse are alike or different before you get married, you eventually become more different as the marriage progresses; thus, it really doesn’t matter how alike or different you were to begin with because it’s all up to chance no matter what.

If I’ve correctly summarized/paraphrased that paragraph, then what do I think?  Hmm.

I don’t think that happiness in marriage happens by chance.  I think that people have to make the choice to be happy no matter what the circumstances are.  People are going to be different no matter what they do.  That is life.  It’s what people make of those differences that determines the amount of happiness they experience.  If people dwell on the negatives, then they’ll be unhappy.  However, if you view the differences as complementary attributes that bring a couple full circle, then happiness can abound.

3.  Do you like to dance? Have you ever taken dance lessons?

Um, hello?  This is the girl who has the song, Hips Don’t Lie as a ringtone.

Yes, I like to dance and fancy myself a good dancer, although my children would beg to differ.

The only dance lessons I’ve had were on the cruise I went on last summer.  Super Sis and I wanted to take ballroom lessons, but the guys wouldn’t participate, so we had to be each others’ partners.

Can you say AWKWARD?  Holding hands and taking turns being the male lead was weird.

We did have a lot of fun, though, and laughed pretty hard the entire time.

4.  Fresh from the oven peach pie or home made peach ice cream? Pick one.

Neither.  I’m not a super-big fan of peaches, and I’ve never really liked pie.  I used to like peaches and creme, but now I’m lactose intolerant, so I can’t have that treat anymore.

5.  Should people accept unfairness and learn to make the best of it?

There are some things in life that are going to be unfair, such as people being born into rich families, the richer getting richer, etc.  That is just the way the chips fall.  Also, isn’t it strange how some people just seem to have all of the good luck in life?  I mean, you see the same people having good things happen for inexplicable reasons.  Once again, that’s just how life is sometimes, and we can’t do anything about it.

On the other hand, watching while one group of people is treated unfairly is not something we should accept.  Take, for instance, the Muslim population in America.  I worked in a private Muslim school two years ago…my first teaching position…and it opened my eyes to how warm the people from this culture are.  They are very driven to succeed, hence the fact that many of them are doctors and lawyers.  It broke my heart to read my students’ essays that described how they’d been yelled at while walking through parking lots.  It made me very angry too.

I’m currently teaching in a school where a lot of the students receive free and reduced meals.  My students, in particular, have difficulties with their reading comprehension.  I’ve been astounded to hear how others have labeled these students as “problem” kids.  That is unfair.

I think it’s easy for people on the “outside” (i.e., those who’ve never known someone from another culture or don’t work with struggling students) to judge.  Heck.  I used to be a person who thought that there was no reason why every child shouldn’t be able to pass our state exam by the tenth grade.  Life experience has taught me differently.  Thus, I think that we have a responsibility to share our own personal experiences and observations to help educate those who have misconceptions about others.  This is how we can fight some of the unfairness that exists in our world.

6.  The top five all time summer movie blockbusters (released between May and August and grossing at least 100 million dollars) are-Jaws, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Star Wars (the original), Ghostbusters, and ET. Which one’s your favorite?

My favorite from this list would have to be Raiders of the Lost Ark.  I’m a huge history buff, so this movie tapped into that passion of mine.  Plus, Harrison Ford wasn’t too hard to look at either.  😉

7.  If given the chance, would you like to visit the moon?

The moon?  Um…let me think a sec…NO!!  I’m satisfied looking at pictures, thank you very much.  Now, if you’d asked if I’d like to visit Hawaii, I’d have to say YES!

8.  My Random Thought

One month from today, I will be the mom of two kids who are officially away at college.

One month from today, I will be spending my first day as a mom to children who no longer live under my roof full-time.

A couple of days ago, Rooster surprised me with a cherry slushy from Sonic…

He’d been out long boarding with friends, and when he got home, he carried this in to me…a big smile on his face.

It was one of the most thoughtful things he’d done for me in a long time.

He’s been pulling away, you see, spending a lot of time this summer with friends.  I don’t see him much, and when I do, we’re usually arguing about something.

He’s asserting himself…trying to extricate himself from my mama claws.

One month away…

The time will be here before I know it.

8 Responses

  1. Those little snippets of thoughtfulness mean a lot. They remind us that our child is still underneath the young adult.

  2. As an empty nester I know the sadness/excitment of this time as the last one goes off to college. Pat yourself on the back. Job well done! PS: They never completely leave. Believe me. They come back and often with a greater appreciation of you and home.

  3. I love when they do something sweet or unexpected for you!

  4. First off, how do you get to be the first person on the linky so much?? 😀
    Loved your answer to the marriage question. I’m trying very hard to read “Emma”, and I just don’t get it. I went on wikipedia and read the synopsis…now I think I can just put that book away and read something else. Maybe read it some other day.
    So sweet of Rooster! YS will be busy this year with band…it’s a year of “lasts” for him…okay, for me!

  5. I thought of you when I saw a dance question! 🙂

    THANK GOD – if YOU didnt get the Jane Austen quote, then I dont feel so bad… I was totally lost! 🙂

  6. We are half-way empty nesters, and it really is hard, even with a couple kiddos still home.

    And we had a friend in high school that probably went to the theater 20 times when ‘Raiders’ came out 😉

  7. Oh I loved your answers! You said what I wanted to on #5, only much more eloquently. #7 made me laugh – amen, sister! I feel your pain on #8! So glad you had a sweet moment of being loved on yesterday!

  8. Good answer on #5 and loved your dancing answer too. It’s hard letting our kids grow up, isn’t it?

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

