• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,352 hits

Why I Hate Twitter

Ok…so Twitter seems to be the “thing” these days with people even using hash tags on their Facebook updates.

I signed up for Twitter a few years ago.

I gave it a fair go but found I didn’t like it, so I “deleted” my account.

As you know, accounts don’t really get deleted but get deactivated.

Some time later, I decided to give it another try, so I reactivated it.

After a short while, I decided I still wasn’t getting all of the hype, so I “deleted” my account again.

However, a recent discussion with Rooster and the Mr. made me decide to reactivate my account.

When I signed on (Twitter never really deletes your account but saves your information in case you change your mind), I saw the message that my account had been “suspended.”

I went to the link provided but could not find, among the possible reasons listed, one that explained why MY account had been suspended.

I put in a request to have the suspension lifted.

I responded to the generic email sent out.

Then, I waited.

It didn’t take long until I received a reply that the problem “seems to have been resolved.”

I eagerly signed back on and found, to my dismay, that the message was still there.

When your Twitter account is suspended, you are not allowed to “follow” anyone.

You’re also not allowed to “tweet.”

You are, however, allowed to change the design of your Twitter page, your password, and your profile information.  You aren’t allowed to view what your profile looks like to others.

Because your account is suspended.

So, I put in another request for technical support.

To which I got the standard email, to which I replied stating that I’d read the rules and that I had not violated any of them.

To which I got a message saying that “the problem seems to have been resolved.”

Guess what?

It wasn’t.

I’ve sent a couple more requests with my personal notes growing, shall we say, more heated.

While I’ve gotten the first standard response to the requests, when I respond (standard protocol), I haven’t gotten any follow-up messages.

No “the problem seems to have been resolved.”

No “We’re so sorry for your issue, and we’re looking into it.”

Nothing.

I tried being nice.

I really did.

I even explained that all I wanted to do was follow my children’s tweets.

I tried looking for a “real” number to call them.

There’s a real number, all right, but it’s not for technical support.

I am not happy.

Yeah, I know.  I’m having a bad week.  First the food and now Twitter.

Whatever.

I think I should offer to train companies on how to provide good customer service.

Rule Number 1:  Never ignore your customer.

Rule Number 2:  Every customer is important.

Rule Number 3:  Treat each customer like he/she is your mother.  Actually, treat the customer like he/she is your grandmother.  Everyone likes their grandmothers.

Rule Number 4:  Stop with the generic form letters.  They’re okay in some cases but not in all.

Rule Number 5:  Before telling a customer that the problem “seems to be resolved” do a quality check to ensure that it really has been.

I really would like to turn this hate-fest into a love-fest.

I can be a very loyal person.

I’d even be willing to eat crow and write a blog post about how wonderful Twitter is if my problem actually does get resolved (and I get to keep my “AuburnChick” name because that’s my whole internet identity, and I’m not willing to give it up).

So, I’m throwing down the gauntlet.

I’d sincerely like for Twitter to come out of this as the victor.

Wanna know why?

Because in doing so, we’d both actually be winners.

3 Responses

  1. Wow. Hate that you are having so much trouble this week. I haven’t quite figured the whole Twitter thing out yet. I do have an account & I do tweet sometimes but can’t quite decide if I like it or not.

  2. You could always make your user name auburnchick1. Some days I tweet quite a bit, other times not so much. I don’t tweet with my boys (their request & I’m honoring it…sometimes ignorance is bliss!).

  3. I hate you had so much problems with it. My Twitter account was hacked & they were johny-on-the-spot getting it taken care of.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

