• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,338 hits

A New Project Begins

You might remember the diary entry my yard wrote a couple of years ago.

Well, after a couple more years of watching my yard go even more to pot, we’re finally able to do something about it.

After getting a couple of estimates, we hired a local company to put in new sod…for the front AND back yards!

The company is also going to re-do my flower beds in the front…adding new plants!!!

I’ll be chronicling the process, of course. It will provide more fodder for the blog.

I took pictures of the yards as they currently look.

First, the front…

And now for the backyard…

Pretty bad, eh?

Yeah.

The process of fixing the yard will involve two treatment sprays to kill off the grass/weed combination that currently exists. The company sprayed the first treatment on Wednesday. In two weeks, the company will come back and do the second treatment. After another two weeks, the next phase will begin…cutting out the dead yard, removing it, leveling out the backyard by removing dirt, and laying the sod and installing the new plants!!

After that, I’m going to hire the company to maintain my yard…cut/fertilize/weed-eat…because I DO NOT have a green thumb, and I want the new grass to last a long time.

To say I’m excited would be an understatement!

3 Responses

  1. You have a lovely lot of outdoor space, I envy you! Have you got plans for a BBQ pit or something? I would love to have somewhere to sit out at night to enjoy all that space….so long as there’s a fire, friends and a beer or two!

    Looking forward to seeing how it all works out.

  2. That’s exciting stuff! I always feel better when the outside of my house is looking good. What’s it called? Curb appeal? I pay to have my lawn taken care of because 1) I don’t own a mower 2) I am not married and my son is too little to mow and 3) I hate sweating (in that capacity!) Can’t wait to see the after pics!

  3. You have a pretty house and I’m looking forward to seeing the pictures of the process.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

