• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,503 hits

Sounds of the Night

My pneumonia has brought along something else into my life…insomnia.

As I sit, on the couch all night where I’m a lot more comfortable, I hear the sounds of the night…

Grunts from others in the house who went to bed with bellies full of Golden Corral’s All You Can Eat buffet…

Runs to the potty…

Running water as toilets are flushed and hands are washed…

Doors clicking shut as bodies return to bed…

Dogs making themselves comfortable in the bed I should be lying upon…

The fan, making its gentle, soothing, and ever so faint humming noises.

Though I’d love to be in the Land of Slumber that Rooster is currently finding himself residing in, I’m grateful for these sounds as they remind me that all is, in the grand scheme of things, well in my world, and I am very blessed.

2 Responses

  1. Soon, your sleep patterns will return to normal. For now, close your eyes and allow the comforting rhythms of your home pull you into slumber.

  2. I hear you. I have been in the same boat the last few days. Sounds like a nap may be in order today!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

