• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,101 hits

Starbucks Bandits

I’ve been stuck inside the house for the last few days…too tired to go anywhere, and too puny to risk letting others catch my germs.

My taste buds have been off, and the only reason I’ve eaten has been because I’m supposed to, not because I really want to.

Yesterday, I got the hankering for a Cookie Crumble Frappuccino from Starbucks.

I even posted about said hankering on Facebook.

Imagine my surprise when a friend immediately responded by telling me to email my address do she could drop off the treat.

I was, I will admit, a tad embarrassed. I was on the phone with Christina, and she said to take my friend up on the offer because I would do the same thing if the roles were reversed.

Why is it so difficult to accept kind acts from others, I wonder? Do we view this as weakness?

For me, it’s about not wanting people to think I’m mooching…taking advantage of a situation.

What it really boils down to is pride, I think.

It’s humbling to accept someone’s act of kindness.

Yet, isn’t this what the Lord calls us to do…live lives that demonstrate His love in small, thoughtful acts?

Sometimes, when we don’t allow someone to do something nice for us, we might also be denying that person the blessing that goes along with the giving.

People who unselfishly give are always blessed…maybe not tangibly, but in ways we may never be aware of.

After talking to Christina, I sent my address to my friend and then ran to the bathroom and quickly applied eyeliner (couldn’t do irreparable damage to her eyes, you know!).

You should have seen the huge smile on her daughter’s face when she stepped out of the vehicle, drink in hand.

I turned my head away so I wouldn’t breathe sicky germs on her, thanked her profusely, and blew kisses to my friend, who was sitting in the driver’s seat.

The Starbucks Bandits had struck, and the joy of their generosity will bring a smile to my face every time I order a Cookie Crumble Frappuccino.

20120717-002013.jpg

4 Responses

  1. So sorry you’ve been sick…I’m just catching up on blog reading. Small acts of kindness make both sides feel good : )

  2. That is so sweet of her to take time out of her day to bring you a treat! It IS easier to give than to receive, isn’t it? 🙂

  3. So sweet. You know you were blessed and I bet the givers were even more blessed. That’s how my God works….double blessings!

  4. This is sooooo true. When you figure out why it’s so much easier to do for others than allow others to do for self, then let me know. I’m still working on it. What a friend. And I forget that the littlest things mean sooo much.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

