• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,503 hits

Olympic Hodgepodge

The world is abuzz with talk of the Olympics, so it seems quite natural that this week’s Hodgepodge questions would also include this theme.  Though it’s late in the day when I’m posting my own answers, you can still play along and link up with Joyce.

1.  The summer Olympics begin next week and London is playing host. If you had the chance to go in person what (non-Olympic) London site would you most like to visit?

I think I’d like to visit the Tower of London.  I’ve read a lot of historical novels, and I’d like to see where so many famous people in England’s history were imprisoned.

2.  What is something in your life right now that feels like an Olympic event?

Well, if you’ve been reading my blog for the past few days, you know that I’m recovering from pneumonia.  The worse thing about this sickness is the fatigue.  I’ve gotta tell you that I am a person who is ALWAYS on the go.  In fact, I’m usually running in three different directions, so my doctor’s mandate of rest has been very difficult.  With that said, I’ve found myself with no other option because I just cannot hold up for long stretches.  So, right now my Olympic event is getting better…sleeping as much as I can and letting others take care of the day-to-day stuff.

3.  What’s your favorite supper to prepare and serve when it’s too hot to cook?

Ha, ha, ha!  It doesn’t matter if it’s too hot or too cold.  I rarely cook.  My favorite supper to prepare is whatever I can either pick up from a local restaurant or go out to eat there.

4.  July 18th is National Get Out of the Doghouse Day…when was the last time you were ‘in the doghouse?’

I’m a married woman.  I usually stay in the doghouse.  It’s usually for not eating enough or adding a new pair of shoes to my collection.

5.  What television commercial do you find particularly irritating or inappropriate? You may not answer with ‘all of them’. I know some of you were thinking about it.

There is a used car lot about an hour away from here, and the commercials for this place are the most redneck-ish, dumb commercials ever.  The most annoying part is when the owner repeats his business name about a hundred times.  This is what he’s known for.  It doesn’t matter if the commercials are on TV or on the radio…I’ll turn the channel.  It’s so bad that I will NEVER buy a car from this person…EVER.  That’s how much I loathe the commercials.

6.  Share one interesting piece of news from the year you were born.

I had to do some research for this question!  I found this site, and a few of things that stand out to me are that Monday Night Football began in 1970, four students were killed at Kent State, and 18 year olds were given the right to vote.  Interesting stuff!

7.  What’s the best part of your average day?

The best part of my average day is walking into my house after running a bunch of errands or working and being greeted by my dogs.  They are so happy that I’m home, and they’re eager to love on me.

8.  My Random Thought

Since getting sick, I’ve spent most of my time on the couch.

My dogs are tired of not getting loved on, so they’ve been coming to me.

Pele, in particular (the brown dog below) has been quite sneaky.  I’ve found him on the couch two times…after I’ve woken up from naps.

He’s a big dude but so gentle and sweet.

6 Responses

  1. Your pups are so adorable. I agree with the eating out whenever possible. haha
    Hope you’re better soon.

  2. Cute dogs! It can be so hard to stop & rest to get better. I am constantly on the go also and the few times I have had to just not do anything were so hard. I hope you are better soon and that you can relax and enjoy the break 🙂

  3. ahhh – doggies know when you’re not feeling good. When I’m down & out, I am usually covered with doggie faces too. Its the best kind of medicine!!! 🙂

    Hate you’re still feeling so bad 😦 But you gotta be on the upswing at least!

  4. I’m so sorry you’re still feeling crummy. Take care of yourself and get well though, don’t worry about anything else. Pneumonia takes a long time to get over and you don’t want to go back to work feeling less than 100%. There will be kid germs to catch then!

  5. I love, love LOVE your doggie photos!!! And I can see why being greeted when you come home with their unconditional love…that it would be a better part of your day. Sweet. And I tellya….when I was a young girl I had pneumonia for 6 winters of my life, and I know just how exhausting that can be. You take care of yourself. And yes…I think crying about it all [as you posted above this blog entry] helped!!!! You needed that.

  6. I hope you start to feel more energetic soon. I read about your training course crying session whilst ill and my heart went out to you. Of course it’s ok to cry when things go bad and it’s not that you’re weak, it’s just that you need to give yourself a break. Hope it’s not too long before you’re back on your feet again soon. Best wishes, Pam.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

