• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,836 hits

Teaching Teens and Reaping Results

My friend (and school’s literacy coach), Barb, purchased Alan Sitomer’s book, Teaching Teens and Reaping Results in a Wi-Fi, Hip-Hop,Where-Has-All-the-Sanity-Gone World: Stories, Strategies, Tools, and Tips, for the reading teachers at our school.

Because I visit with her often, I was able to grab my copy early this summer.

What I quickly realized as I began reading the first chapter was that this was a book I was going to have read slowly.

Every single page was filled with practical information that begged to be ingested rather than read over lightly.

I did something I rarely do while reading…

I highlighted.

I also took notes.

Alan doesn’t mince words in this book.

He’s frank about the struggles that kids face in school.

He’s frank about what we, as educators, face while trying to impart academic content to our students.  The mandate to meet state and national standards is complicated by students who come from broken homes, possess self-esteems that fluctuate according to current popularity trends, and parents (not all) who are either so immersed in their own problems that they can’t help their children or have turned their children over to the establishment believing that it’s our job to educate their babies on our own.

Alan offers several lesson plan ideas that I went gaga over and cannot wait to use in my own classroom, tweaking to fit the needs of my students and my own teaching style, of course.

If you’re looking for a “teacher” type of book, I HIGHLY recommend this one.

Even if you don’t teach but work with youth in any way, I still recommend that you read this book.

Kids need us to be real with them.

Kids need us to meet them where their interests lie.

Alan’s book shows us how to do this.

In doing so, we build relationships with the youth we come across…something we MUST do before we can ever teach them a single lesson.

One Response

  1. That sounds like a book every teacher should read! Thanks!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

