• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 550 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,119 hits

Wednesday Hodgepodge…Two Days Late

Ok, so I’m two days late and a dollar short.  That’s okay.  I’m sure Joyce will forgive me.  I just couldn’t let the week go by without answering the questions.  Visit Joyce to see how she answered!  It’s not too late, after all, for you to play along too!

1.  The Summer Olympics officially begin this Friday night…will you be watching? If you could see just one event in person which one would you pick?

I will most DEFINITELY be watching!!  I love, love, love the Olympics and will stay glued to the TV and online updates!!  Watching my children play sports all of these years has given me an appreciation for the dedication that goes into becoming the best.

If I could watch just one event, I’d select gymnastics.  I was like most little girls and loved tumbling.  I love the edge of danger that goes along with balance beam and uneven bars.  It’s such a beautiful sport!

2.  Do lazy days make you feel rested or unproductive?

Lazy days make me feel rested…something I desperately need as I have too few of them.  I rarely feel unproductive because the wheels in my brain are constantly turning, churning out new ideas.

3.  July 25th is ‘officially’ Threading the Needle Day…can you sew? On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being not at all and 10 being Betsy Ross-like, how would you rate your skill with a needle and thread?

I would rate myself a 4 on being like Betsy Ross.  I can thread a needle and can sew on buttons.  During Home Ec in high school, I made an apron that I still use today.  I also once made a prego dress.  It was…um…interesting.  My mother-in-law helped me cut the pattern and taught me how to put the pieces together.  Perhaps, if I had a stay-at-home lifestyle, I’d like to learn how to do more with a thread and needle.

4.  ‘Threading the Needle’ can also mean to walk a fine line between two things or issues (think awkward social situation). When was the last time you had to ‘thread the needle‘, figuratively speaking?

I think that the whole same sex marriage topic can be awkward for me to deal with.  I have friends who are more liberal in their stance on this issue, so I try not to get on my soapbox about my opposing view.  I just don’t want to lose friendships, even though I am 1000% for marriage between a man and a woman.  Political topics and Nathalie do not go together.  At.  All.

5.  Kidney, pinto, black, or navy…your favorite bean?

Black beans…hands down.  I am always thrilled to find black bean dishes on menus when we eat out.  There’s just so much you can do with these little babies.

6.  Have you ever hosted a garage sale? Was it more success or bust?

I have had a few garage sales and even organized a couple of large garage sales that raised money for soccer teams.  I’m not the best haggler, I’ll admit, but I am good at organizing things.

7.  What makes you roll your eyes?

People who brag about themselves when they’re really not “all that.”  Oh goodness, but they need to learn to eat humble pie!!!  Drives me nuts!

8.  My Random Thought

I thought I’d share some pictures of the horrendous weather we had to drive home in when we came back from our technology training…

Lisa, another teacher who’d volunteered to drive the entire week, did a fabulous job with that huge Suburban!  She was such a careful driver, and I’m grateful that she took on this nerve-wracking task!

Some of you may be wondering if my guys followed through on the chore list I’d left for them.

I think the pictures speak for themselves…

The house had been vacuumed, the trash taken out, and there was even Riptide Rush, my favorite Gatorade, in the fridge.  The Mr. had thoughtfully replenished my supply.

The dogs were also incredibly happy to see me, and I loved waking up and being able to snuggle with them…

As much fun as I had, I sure am glad to be home!!

One Response

  1. I’m glad you made it safely thru all that rain and arrived home to a clean house!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

