• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,043 hits

Singing the Tune of the Wednesday Hodgepodge

Last week, I was a little late posting my responses to Joyce’s Hodgepodge questions.  Although I’ve been at in-service meetings all week, I’ve managed to stay on track.  Yay for small victories!  Play along by answering on your own blog and linking back up with Joyce.

1.  Joyce is joining daughter1 in the 101 in 1001 challenge. Essentially you create a list of 101 things you hope to do or accomplish in the next 1001 days. What’s one thing you’d put on your list?

Ok, so if I’m doing the math correctly on my phone’s calculator, 1001 days equals roughly 2.75 years.  So, essentially, the question is what would I like to accomplish from now until then.

I think I’d like to have my non-essential debt paid off, meaning a couple of credit cards and two of my student loans (I have three in total).  I know I’ll get the student loans paid off.  The credit cards will take more time, but as I pay off the other stuff, I’ll put that money toward the credit card payments.

2.  How many remote controls do you have in your house? What’s one item in your home you wish could be operated by remote control?

I’m not even going to attempt to answer this question because, just in my living room, I’m counting about five or six remotes, and that includes the one to my electric fireplace.

In this techno-driven world, everything has a remote control!!

Something that I wish I had a control for is the back door.  With four dogs, I’m forever letting them out and back in, and it gets rather annoying to have to get up all the time.

Don’t tell me about doggie doors.  I don’t think they’re very energy efficient.

3.  What does having it all mean to you? Is it attainable?

Having it all means accepting Jesus’s saving work on the cross and living your life in a way that pleases Him.  As a result, you’re satisfied with the things in your life and consider yourself satisfied with those things.  Is it attainable?  I don’t know.  Satisfaction with what we currently possess is difficult given the mentality of “I want/should get more” that exists today.

4.  What’s your favorite movie soundtrack?

Part of me wanted to answer Grease; however, after talking to Chicky, I decided to answer Phantom of the Opera.  My favorite song from this soundtrack is Music of the Night.

The lyrics really speak to my heart.  They describe the power that music can have over a life.

5.  Describe the best view you’ve seen from a rooftop.

Well, I don’t regularly spend my time on rooftops, so this question is difficult to answer.  The only time I’ve ever been on a roof was when Rooster and I stayed in a hotel in Mobile, Alabama, after Hurricane Katrina hit New Orleans.  We were in Mobile for a soccer tournament, and the devastation was everywhere.

Standing on the rooftop one night, we were privileged to see and hear, from a distance, the Beach Boys perform a benefit concert.

Sure, that’s probably not what Joyce was probably thinking, but it’s the first thing that come to mind.  Seeing the Beach Boys, whose songs I’d sung growing up, was such a treat and touched my heart after all of the hard times that my fellow Southerners had endured.

6.  What’s your least favorite thing about summer?

My least favorite thing about summer is the humidity.  As a gal blessed with an abundance of naturally curly hair, I loathe humid days.  I feel as if I’ve completely wasted my time when I’ve straightened my hair and then walk outside to have everything curl up.  Grrr.

7.  Our weekly Hodgepodge falls on the first day of August. In ten words or less sum up your July.

Two weeks of being sick and nine days of training.

8.  My Random Thought

Yesterday, I moved all of the stuff you see on the counter from the floor near my SmartBoard.

The cleaning people refused to wax my floor until the stuff had been moved.

They’ll move the tables and chairs…just not the personal stuff.

I spent part of my lunch break during my in-service meetings moving the boxes.

Meanwhile, the open cabinets are displaying stuff from the previous teacher…a teacher who is now one of the school’s administrative assistants (and a fine one at that).  I have a plan for getting the stuff removed, but finding the time…that’s my next challenge.

The most pressing issue?

Getting everything finished in five days.

Why?

Because next week I have three more days of training before I take Rooster to Auburn.

The next week will be our last before school begins on the 20th.

I’m choosing not to panic.

Yet.

7 Responses

  1. I totally forgot about the “Phantom of the Opera” soundtrack! I love love love the music from it! Good choice.

  2. Someone else said Phantom. I always think of it as a play so it didn’t occur to me but it’s a favorite of mine for sure. Good luck getting it all done. You will : )

  3. oh wow… ok, mini panic attack on your behalf… now, a deep breath… and a prayer for strength, renewal, and for God to stretch those hours you need to get it all done and still remain healthy and sane! 🙂

  4. I would die without our doggie doors. We actually have 2… one that goes into an enclosed porch & then one from the porch to the outside. The one in our house, I LOVE – its double paneled – (2 flaps) & it really does keep the cold & heat out better then a regular door.

  5. Remote for the back door is brilliant! It seems like whenever I have 5 min to sit down is when the dog wants out.
    Best wishes on getting all your stuff done! It is hard not to panic when you have much to accomplish in a short time 🙂

  6. A remote for the back door would be really handy for us too, but only if it also put the chain on the dog’s leash too, as we don’t have a fenced yard. 🙂

    Hope you get everything accomplished in time!

  7. Phantom is one of the soundtracks I play a lot!!

    Humidity is the only thing I actually like air conditioning for, but I do love it for that…just I’d love it warmer than the rest of the word. But definitely enough to dry things out!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

