• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 555 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,779 hits

Blogging at 1:29am

It’s 1:29am as I’m beginning to type this post.

I am in bed, propped up on my elbows.

I can hear Molly and Pele breathing deeply as they dream sweet puppy dreams.

I should be dreaming too, but alas, I find sleep to be elusive tonight.

This is the last evening for a while that my Rooster will be tucked into bed under my roof.

We leave in a few short hours, making the several-hour-drive to Auburn, where we will stay for the evening before helping him move into his dorm tomorrow.

He’s been packing for a couple of weeks…

20120810-013516.jpg

I had to chuckle when I saw his toiletries on the bathroom counter…

20120810-013615.jpg

Boys don’t need much to keep themselves groomed, it would seem.

I’ve got my own toiletries laid out as well, ready for the second college-dropoff-trip in two weekends in a row…

20120810-013815.jpg

I’m going to ride with Rooster as we caravan to Auburn. I’m looking forward to the last few hours I’ll have him to myself.

I’ll have my knitting and the fourth Harry Potter book I’m halfway through with, but I suspect I won’t pay attention to either of them.

I have a sneaky suspicion I’ll be studying Rooster’s profile, on the down-low, of course, marveling at the fact that when he began school many moons ago, it was I who sat in the driver’s seat while he was along for the ride.

I have a lot of emotions coursing through my heart right now, and I’m fighting desperately to maintain control of myself.

I love my children fiercely.

It’s a bittersweet time. While I’m preparing to be sad, I cannot help but be excited at the new adventures that await my boy.

Just as Chicky took flight three years ago, so shall he.

I’ve got Kleenex, and as I continue to ponder my thoughts, I’ll discretely wipe my eyes as needed.

It’s going to be an interesting couple of days.

5 Responses

  1. Good luck today sweetie. I can’t say I know what it’s like but it’s hard enough when my two go to their dad’s for a few days. I will be thinking of you.

  2. Have a safe trip… & enjoy every last minute, taking in every detail of the ride.

  3. God will bless your drive with Rooster and provide you with gems to treasure in your heart in the months ahead. Safe travels.

  4. Good luck momma!! Enjoy your ride with Rooster!

  5. Have a safe trip and enjoy your time with him. It’s not easy…but it helps knowing they are doing what they want and it will be a great adventure for them.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

