• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 150,356 hits

An Exercise in Breathing Deeply

Dear Blog,

I usually have little trouble pouring out my heart to you, but today, things are a little different.

I just came home from moving my sweet Rooster into his dorm for his first year of college, and I forced myself to face these…

20120811-203045.jpg

Those are my babies’ empty bedrooms.

They are the cause of my current angst.

I know this is a rite of passage that children and parents must eventually go through, but it’s painful, nonetheless.

I’m finding myself breathing deeply to calm myself down when the sad feelings overwhelm me.

Earlier, I was struck by the irony of this.

When going through childbirth, I breathed deeply to get through the physical pain.

Tonight, I’m struggling to deal with the emotional pain of change.

The breathing exercises that delivered my babes into my arms are the same exercises that will result in a separation of lives as my babies push on, move out, and develop their individual, adult selves.

I’m still processing the sadness, and I’m crying…a lot.

I’m sure I’ll feel a little better in the morning, but right now, I’m not going to fight the feelings.

I’m just going to breathe deeply, let the tears flow, and wait until tomorrow to share the fun that we did have when we took Rooster to school (I may be sad, but I’m still cognizant of the fact that, overall, it was a wonderful two days that was not marred by the sadness that lurked around the corner).

One Response

  1. My heart goes out to you. I remember those long ago days myself. Your gift with words says things so well. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

