• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 150,356 hits

Never Too Old for the Hodgepodge

It’s Wednesday (although my mind kept thinking it was Thursday), which means it’s time for Joyce’s Hodgepodge!  I always appreciate her questions.  They’re both fun and thought-provoking.

1.  I included this quote (attributed to William H. Danforth) in my blog post yesterday… “The best cure for a sluggish mind is to disturb its routine.” When was the last time you ‘disturbed your routine’ and how’d you do it?

I took my youngest to college last weekend, so how’s that for changing up the routine?!!  If you read my blog regularly, you already know this.

My life has gotten quite busy, though, because this is the last week before school starts, so I’m working like crazy to get my room and plans in order.

Yesterday was a better day for me emotionally.  I didn’t cry.  Not once.  I did get antsy when Rooster didn’t reply to a text I sent him, but he texted me later in the day, so all was good.

My life is all about new routines at the moment!

2.  What’s your favorite fried food indulgence?

I love Chick-fil-A’s tater tots.  I enjoy stopping by in the mornings, on my way to school, and grabbing a box and a bottle of orange juice.  Yum!

3.  Did you have an allowance as a kid? What did you do with it? Do you give your own kids an allowance?

I did receive an allowance as a child.  I tithed out of it and saved the rest to buy Christmas presents with.  Back then, we really didn’t go shopping very often.  The only time I every went to Walmart was to go Christmas shopping.  Strange, eh?  I lived in a small town, and it took thirty minutes to get to a bigger town that had a decent store.

I did give my own children allowances, which I never tied into chores, by the way.  They had to tithe 1/10, put 1/10 in savings, and then could do whatever they wanted with the rest.  Sometimes they saved it; other times, they didn’t.

4.  What’s something you wish you knew more about?

I wish I knew more about how to make a lot of money quickly so that I could retire at the age of 43, sit on the couch eating bon bons, and watch soap operas all day.

😀

I’ll bet you think I’m kidding.

😉

5.  Is there anything you feel too old to do anymore? If so, what?

Most of the time, I don’t feel old.  I don’t look my age, I don’t think, and I truly believe it’s mind over matter.

However, realistically, I know that I’m too old to do things that require me to jump up and down.

Why?

Because, after having two children, my ability to hold what’s in my bladder is not as good as it once was, and, well, there might be leakage if I attempt to do things like skip or jump rope.

Just sayin’.

😉

6.  What’s a song you think has a great first line?

Well, I was going to say Tale as Old as Time, figuring that my friend, Rebecca, would approve, but honestly, the first song with a meaningful first line that came to mind was Amazing Grace.

Getting all perfectionist on you, I wasn’t sure how many words encompassed a “first line,” so I wasn’t sure how much leeway I had.

Yeah, I overanalyze almost everything.  LOL

Either way, Amazing Grace is such a beautiful song, and those two words, which constitute the first line, say it all.

I sang this song to Chicky (before the version below came out) every night as I rocked her to sleep.  She memorized the song and eventually could sing all four verses with me.  Such a sweet memory.

I was fortunate to get to see Chris Tomlin perform this song live two summers ago.  Fantastic artist.  Fantastic song.

 

7.  Who are you writing to/for when you create a blog post? In other words…as you write, who is the audience in your head?

This is a very interesting question.

As I go throughout my day, I often compose blog posts in my head, depending on what’s been happening.  As I write, be it in my head, at the computer, or on my phone (there’s a WordPress app, in case you didn’t know), I feel as if I’m addressing my words to friends, for that is what I consider those who read my blog.

I have, occasionally, addressed my posts to my children.  There have been times when I’m emotional…either happy or sad…and feel the need to speak to them.  I have no idea if they read my posts.  However, I feel like my blog is part of the legacy I want to leave to my children one day…in case they ever want to really know who their mama is.

Gosh…I keep on thinking about this question.

You know, I’ve often wondered why I and the world-at-large blog.

I’ve decided that a small part of it is the desire to be known.  I don’t want to leave this world one day and not have people know who I really was.  I also want people to understand me.

Another reason, for me, is that I don’t want others to feel alone in their feelings.  I often feel like I can’t talk to people face-to-face about my deep insecurities and emotional state of mind.  Or rather, I think that people really don’t want to hear about my life’s ups and downs.  Reading my blog is a person’s choice, though, and it frees me up write to my heart’s content.

Now, when others comment and sometimes offer advice, I realize that 1) they were listening, and 2) they are empathetic because they’ve gone through similar things.

So, that, in a very large nutshell, is my answer to this question. 😀

8.  My Random Thought

Last night, the Mr. and I went to a local Mexican restaurant for dinner.

When we walked in, we heard a lot of music and singing.

What was up?

It was Mariachi Night!

It was quite entertaining, let me tell you, and lent a fun atmosphere to the dining experience.

I recorded the band when they played for a table beside us.

The song speeds up toward the end, and if you watch long enough, you’ll be struck by the talent of the gentleman in the front playing the violin.

Enjoy!

11 Responses

  1. Your answer to the blog writing question was certainly eloquent and thoughtful. I wish I’d said that. 🙂 The desire to be known is a thought I’ve been pondering, along with the desire to really know others,. ONly in heaven will it be like that!!

  2. We even had a similar title! Great minds and all I guess : ) I love the Chris Tomlin version of Amazing Grace, maybe more than the original.

    Have a great day!

  3. I blog for the same reason. It’s that need to be “known” and to be remembered. I also blog as a way for my daughters to read their mom’s innermost thoughts. Yes, I am woman – hear me roar! ( :

  4. I have never had Chick Fil A’s tator tots, but I will totally be having them the next time I am there! What a fun surprise for you at the mexican restaurant!

  5. #4 had me LOL

    And as for the waffle potatoes —I agree, yum!!! There is a great restaurant that has Mariachi bands every night…IN TUCSON…100s of miles from where I live. Great food too. rofl

  6. HAHA… you totally knew what song I would do, didnt you? Not a surprise to anyone that knows me 🙂
    I love that you tithed as a child & then your own children did as well… so good!
    mmmm…. chick fil-a’s tater tots… my mind is now stuck on that
    Yep… I’m with you on the jumping thing. Being in youth ministry, its a constant jump with pumping your fist in the air… i’ve gotta be careful now. More of a toe raise then a jump 🙂

  7. Loved reading your answers! I missed my bloggy friends while I was on vacation!

  8. Ah yes… jumping… I remember it well! 😉

  9. I love Amazing Grace…beautiful words and beautiful truths!

    The Mariachi band looked like fun and they were pretty good too.

    I like your thoughts on why you write your blog. Good answer.

  10. You were so kind to send me that sweet e-mail…THANK YOU! I read it this morning…just before Brittany left for college. It helped me so much! It’s good to know that you understand where I’m coming from…there’s a lot of comfort in that. Mariachi bands are always such fun and get my feet ‘a-tappin’! Great video! Have a good one, my friend!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

