• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,869 hits

What a Supportive Team!

Although teachers in my district did not have to “officially” be in our classrooms until yesterday, I, along with others, went in on Monday.

Some of us had loads of work ahead of us.

I’d had another night of insomnia and didn’t get to sleep until well after 2am, so I slept in.  By the time I got to school, my friend, Barbara, was already there.

As she’d promised, she helped me move the desks that had mistakenly been placed in my room (I seat my students at tables).

We began chatting, as friends do, while beginning the laborious work.

I started tearing up when I talked about the weekend I’d spent dropping Rooster off at school.

Barb had recently taken her son to Southeastern…the same weekend that I had taken Chicky…so I’d expected her to commiserate with me.

She gently reminded me that I could have it worse, and she told me about sitting next to Madison’s parents at church the day before.

Then she told me that she’s friends with the parents of the teenager who most recently lost his life in an automobile accident.  Barb has been reading his mother’s Facebook updates, and they are incredibly sad, as one can imagine.

So, what Barb was ultimately saying to me was to buck up…at least my babies are alive.

She simply wouldn’t let me cry, dagnabit!

We joked around a bit as I told her that I needed her to let me indulge in self-pity, not give me tough love!!!

😀

Shortly after we had our conversation, my friend, Maegan, one of the sweetest girls you’ll ever meet and a PHENOMENAL reading teacher, came into my room.

She and I really connected last year, and I love her dearly.

She kept telling us how much her legs were itching.

Meanwhile, I was going on about my missing Rooster.

Basically, we took turns complaining…venting.

Finally Barb told us both to hush because our woes were nothing compared to those who are missing the youngsters who passed away this summer.

She’s right…and we both knew that…but we couldn’t help but chuckle as I commented about how supportive we all were of each other.

It was such a relief to laugh, while crying at the same time.

It was a little bit of a tough day as I teared up when I didn’t want to, but I’m starting to get in the routine of things while doing my best to ignore the fact that I don’t have my human babies waiting for me at home.

As Maegan reminded me, I have three classes of other young ones’ lives to touch.

She’s right.

Now, if only my heart would let that fact swallow the sadness that still makes me cry unexpectedly.

Truly, I am grateful for the wonderful team of teachers I work with.

We are not only professionals, but we’re friends.

I think that’s going to be a recipe for success this year…both at school and in our personal lives.

2 Responses

  1. So glad you have friends as co-workers. But you know, while you have not suffered the death of a child, you are, nonetheless, suffering! I don’t find much comfort in comparing sufferings. A loss is a loss, and you are still freshly reeling from the loss of a certain familiar relationship and routine. Now, if you are still crying at the drop of a hat next February because your kids are away, I might say you need tough love. All that to say there is a time for everything and I think your reason for spontaneous tears is valid right now. Hey, I cried buckets when my kids went off to be summer camp counselors the first time, and buckets again when my second son moved away for five weeks!

  2. I know it’s hard when your chickies leave the nest; I had a hard time with yet, too. You know you did your job well when they are independent but still call you from time to time, even if it is just to need money! While losing a child has to be one of the worst things to ever go through, seeing your babies leave the nest isn’t easy, either.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

