• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,509 hits

A Tropical Hodgepodge

Joyce has some tropical questions for us this week!  I just love Wednesdays for this very reason…fun and often thought-provoking questions.  Thank you to our wonderful hostess!!

1.  Aloha! On August 21, 1959 Hawaii officially became a US state. Have you ever been? Upon arrival would you prefer an orchid or a hibiscus to tuck behind your ear?

I have never been to Hawaii but would love to visit one day!  Upon arrival, I believe I’d prefer an orchid.  They are so pretty!

2.  Since we’re talking tropical…what’s your favorite food or beverage made with pineapple?

I love pineapple!!!  My favorite beverage with a pineapple flavor is Pina Colada!  Wait.  Is that coconut?  Well, I guess it doesn’t matter.  Either way, it’s a tropical drink!!

3.  Do you believe in soul mates? Explain.

Tough question.  I’m not sure how I really feel about this.  I am not a romantic person and really don’t like much lovey-dovey stuff.  I think to call someone your soul mate can, at times, sound a little over the top.  But who am I to judge if someone is that in love with another to call that person by that term.

4.  Share a memory about the house you grew up in.

I spent about half of my childhood in a small town in Alabama.  My house resembled that of a plantation home, complete with white columns, black window shutters, second story porch, long, winding staircase down the inside front foyer, and sun porch.  That house was most famous for a shooting that occurred.  The owner of the home was killed by his son, I think.  Stories abounded about a wooden leg in a crawl space that happened to adjoin my bedroom.  I never, ever went into that space.  Sometimes, at night, I got a bit freaked out.  My sister would come and get into bed with me. The house was huge, and we were the only people who slept upstairs.

I tried searching for a picture of it online but could not find one.  Maybe one day I’ll dig through old photos and scan a few.  Honestly, the house doesn’t hold too many good memories, so rummaging through those photos would be a bit like unearthing hurts that have been buried for a long time.

5.  Are you comfortable with silence?

When I’m with another person, I think that I feel the need to fill the silence that may, somehow, occur.  If I’m by myself, I don’t have a problem with things being quiet.

6.  You spot a giant spider on your bedroom wall…what’s your next move? (all spiders are giant, right?)

I scream like a banshee, run out of the room, call someone for assistance, and try to get my ginormous goosebumps to go away.

I also probably sleep in the den for a couple of nights, not trusting that there aren’t more spiders where the other one came from.

And yes, ALL spiders are giant AND hairy.

GROSS.

7.  My idea of fun does NOT include _cleaning, cooking, or doing most domestic chores_____________.

8.  My Random Thought

Today is my third day back to school.

Lesson planning is in full-swing.

We have a total of ten reading teachers this year after two left last year and five new teachers joined our group.

We’re having a lot of fun planning together…trying to help one another out as we transition from relaxed summer days to frenetic, seven-period days (new for us this year).

Because we teach intensive reading (students who did not pass our state reading assessment, FCAT), our classes are double-blocked, meaning that we only teach three ninety-minute classes with a brief break in between the forty-five minute sessions.

Here’s a sampling of what my days will look like (this is today’s agenda):

Please say a prayer for teachers everywhere.  There is a LOT of pressure and so much to do every day.  All we want to do is focus on our students, but there’s a lot of administrative tasks that must be attended to as well.  I think every teacher definitely needs a secretary!!!  You know, I might just vote for the presidential candidate who adds that to his agenda.

😉

7 Responses

  1. I love your enthusiasm…wanna throw some this way?

  2. That wooden leg story would have done me in too : ) Pina Coladas are pineapple and coconut which is pretty much my favorite combination.

    My daughter is working on her Masters and is in a 5th grade classroom this year. She is with a SC teacher of the year and is learning so much already. Have a great year!

  3. My son, is getting ready for another college class to teach beginning the 27th I believe…paper work, itineraries, etc. So I understand what lies ahead for you in that aspect. About the soulmates, tho I do consider my hubby one…it’s in a context of knowing what he’s thinking, his actions ahead of time things like that…your explaining how you feel is perfect for you. That’s what this meme is all about, isn’t it? Okay, and tho your childhood home is not that much a happy memory for you, the Gone With the Wind description is outstanding.

  4. Your childhood house sounds so interesting! And you are correct Pina Coladas do have pineapple flavor in them, from pineapple juice, or crushed pineapple…or even pineapple rum (yum!)

  5. I had to google the ingredients for pina colada to be sure they had pineapple, as I’ve never actually made one, just paid the insane prices they charge for such drinks! And yep – light rum, coconut, pineapple… all things good! And your childhood home sounds beautiful – but i understand completely about unearthing hard memories… right there with ya’ girl. have a wonderful day – I love your enthusiasm, your students are blessed to have you!

  6. Anytime someone has been killed in a house I think evil spirits stick around. It is one reason I hate old B&Bs. No wonder you have bad memories from there. On a sunnier note, I hope you have a great year. So glad you work with ppl you enjoy.

  7. Okay, even though I wouldn’t have liked sleeping in that room (I had my own “haunted” room to contend with) I do love history and I’ll bet that house had a lot of it. That part would have been pretty awesome.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

