• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,338 hits

Loving the Labor Day Hodgepodge

I cannot believe it’s Wednesday already!!!  Honestly, my schedule is so busy that I have gotten behind in my blog reading.  Please forgive me.  I’m trying hard to catch up, but with lesson plans to write and a six-week class that started this week, life continues to be hectic.

Either way, I’m also grateful for the Hodgepodge questions.  Thanks, Joyce!!!

1.  Americans will celebrate Labor Day this coming weekend. Do you know what we’re actually celebrating? (without consulting your friends Google or wikipedia, ahem) What’s a project you’re currently ‘laboring‘ over?

Actually, I do know because I saw a website mentioned in a teacher magazine that I read yesterday.  The site has videos about Labor Day, and I’m planning on showing the following one to my students on Friday.  It’s only three minutes long, but it will give them a good introduction to what this holiday really is about.

history-of-labor-day

Well dang.  I can’t seem to imbed the video.  No worries.  Just click on the link.

Now, what am I currently laboring over?  I’d have to say lesson plans, for sure.  On the knitting front, I’m working on a shawl, but I haven’t touched it in a few weeks because of the lesson plans I’m laboring over.  Grrr.

2.  Labor Day also signals the unofficial end of summer for most of us…what summer food will you miss the most? If you’re in the southern hemisphere feel free to substitute winter for summer.

This is going to sound very silly, but I’m going to miss the Black Bean Soup that Newk’s has on its menu.

Yeah.  I know.  Soups aren’t summer foods (unless they are cold soups, that is), right?  Not with this restaurant.  Last year they took the Black Bean Soup off of the menu when the cold weather hit and told me it was not a winter soup.  I had to scratch my head in confusion at that one.  I also refused to eat at the restaurant until the soup was back on the menu.

Never aggravate a vegan who’s just trying to find a meal to eat.

3.  A well known proverb states, ‘It’s easier to seek forgiveness than ask permission.’ Your thoughts?

I don’t think I agree with this if you’re doing something while knowing, at the same time, that you’re going to have to ask forgiveness later.  Now, if the occasion is life-or-death, like you have to “borrow” a motorcycle to go after the girl who stole your man,  I’d say go for it.

😀

4.  Food critic, film critic, book critic, art critic….which hat would you most like to wear? 

I would love to be a book critic.  Here’s why.

Food…well…I already critique that, and most of it stinks and is not vegan-friendly.

Films…well…I already do that (remember my scathing review of Transformers 2?).

Art…well…I don’t know much about art and probably wouldn’t “get” most of it anyhoo.

Books…well…I’m a reading teacher, last time I checked my lesson plans (which I labor over all the time), and I’ve read some good ones and some really bad ones.  I’d love for someone to pay me a hefty salary to critique books!!

5.  When you were a kid, who (besides your parents) was your favorite adult?

Sorry, but my parents were not my favorite adults.  Traumatic childhood and not that great of teenage years, ya know.

Thus, my favorite adult was my best friend’s mom.  That woman never said I couldn’t sleep over and always had a cabinet full of snacks.  When she knew I was coming, she packed the fridge with the ingredients we needed to make my favorite dip…sour cream and onion.

To this day, I can walk into her home (haven’t seen her in years though) and feel at home in her embrace.

She never judged me and was quick with the parental affection and acceptance I craved.

And I just realized something.

I’ve never told her any of this.

The next time I go to Podunk, Alabama, I need to visit her and say thank you.

6.  The astronaut, Neil Armstrong, passed away last week. He was regarded as a hero by many generations of people all around the world. Do we still have modern day heroes? What makes someone a hero?

I do believe we have modern day heroes.  These are the people who go out of their way to help someone when the need arises.  These are everyday people who put their lives on the line…firemen, policemen, and other emergency personnel, to name a few.

What about those who donate organs after they pass away?  I’m remembering Madison as I write this.  Her parents were heroes when they made the difficult decision to donate her organs.

The mark of a hero is unselfishness.  I will always think of Madison’s family when I think of the word “hero.”

7.  I never get tired of __________________.

I never get tired of being silly.  I don’t know why, but I’m goofy.  I can’t help it.  In fact, I was talking to Rooster on the phone a couple of days ago, and the Mr., who’d been listening in, asked afterward, “Why do you have to act so goofy?”  It’s me.  What can I say?  I’m corny, and I know it, but who cares?  I would rather go through life with a happy-go-lucky attitude than a grumpy-go-unlucky countenance.

8.  My Random Thought

Speaking of being silly, look at what arrived in the mail on Monday…

See those 50’s CDs?

They contain the music that my kids will be listening to when they walk into class or when we take dancing brain breaks.

I’m not sure what the principal is going to say if he walks into my room unexpectedly.  All I’ll say is that the breaks are brain-researched activities that are proven to be crucial to getting oxygen to students’ brains to help them succeed in the learning process.

Hey!  Any excuse to cut loose…even for a minute, eh?

6 Responses

  1. Having someone to turn to is a blessing. I had a traumatic childhood too. It makes me sad seeing others have a good relationship with their parents and I know that I will never have that. It also makes me happy that they have a good relationship with their parents. It makes me strive to be a better mom for my children.
    Yes, make sure you thank that kind soul who tried to give you a moment of peace in your life.

  2. Ahh!! Lesson planning — very time consuming for sure – I’m beginning my training in that area in about a week. Half excited… half not. lol

  3. What a fun classroom 🙂 I would play music for my students all the time and they loved it! Good luck with your lesson planning and your knitting project…I have always wanted to learn how to knit…Happy Wednesday 🙂

  4. There was a woman who went out of her way to show me kindness when I was a young mom. I lost touch with her but have tried to find her via a google search. So far no luck. I’m glad you had someone loving to fill in some of the painful gaps of your growing up years.

  5. I think you would rock it as a book critic! Not a solitary doubt in my mind! Oh, I’m a believer in acting silly all the time…just ask my girls! They often cringe at how I act, but life’s far too short to be a knot on a log! I love the idea of playing 50’s music for your students to get up and move to! You have to make learning FUN…and I think you’ve accomplished that, for sure!

  6. Oh…and your friend’s mom sounds like a guardian angel who came to you when you needed love and guidance…a real blessing!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

