• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,338 hits

Happiness is the Weekly Hodgepodge!

I don’t know about you, but I do think that Joyce hit the nail on the head when she asked for confirmation that it is, in fact, Wednesday.  I totally got my days mixed up and had, on my Smartboard, that we were having a test on Tuesday.  The kids laughed and tried to get out of their test which is, in fact, scheduled for today.  My poor brain couldn’t comprehend the short week, although my body will be enjoying it!!  Join up with Joyce to play along!

1.  In your opinion what’s the most important job in the world? Oh, and parenting is a given so besides parenting, what’s the most important job in the world?

Well, why don’t we just start with an easy question.

😀

Hmmm…most important job…that pays or not?  Rather than go with an obvious choice (teacher), I think I’ll say that being a Christian and sharing the Gospel is the most important job in the world.  Why?  Because if we don’t share, others won’t hear and might not learn of the saving work that Jesus did on the cross.  To spend eternity in hell because someone didn’t share the Gospel?  Well, that is just really sad and truly breaks my heart.

2.  Share a favorite or not so favorite memory from a childhood birthday.

Bet you think I’m going to share a sad story, eh?  Nope.  This was easy for me.

My 16th birthday…my mom surprised me with a surprise sweet 16 birthday party.  I had gone to a friend’s house after school (a rare event, mind you, so I should have known something was up), where she and her sister cut my hair (we won’t go there…that was a sad affair), and when I returned home, the house was filled with friends.  She even gave me a really pretty ring with sixteen small diamonds.

3.  Peanut butter-crunchy or smooth?

Crunchy…and of the organic kind with nothing but salt and peanuts (no added sugar, thank you very much).

4.  William Butler Yeats is credited as saying, “Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure nor this thing nor that but simply growth, We are happy when we are growing.” Your thoughts?

Hmmm…I don’t know if growth necessarily equates to happiness.  Growth can be a very painful and tiring process.  HOWEVER, there is joy and satisfaction when you look back and see that you’ve grown, so ultimately, one could argue that the statement is true.

5.  What’s something that makes you cringe?

I can think of two things off the top of my head that make me cringe.  1)  Listening as a mother chews out her child in front of teachers during a parent/teacher conference.  This happened recently, and I was mortified for the child.  I wanted to crawl under the table and disappear.  2)  Foul language.  Now, I’m not going to say that I haven’t said my share over the years, but not usually in front of groups of people (only in front of a good friend or the hubster, who’s been in the path of my fury a time or two — not the friend but the hubby, I mean), but I’ve mellowed out in that regard…hardly ever say anything bad anymore, and detest when I hear people spout potty words left and right.

6.  Name a song that always puts you in a good mood?

I love ZOEgirl’s song, You Get Me.  It is soooo MY song.  I don’t think people really “get” me sometimes.  I can come across as stuck up, because I’m shy, and a bit “odd” because of my convictions about healthy eating and such.  Thankfully God “gets” me.

When I hear this song, I kind of shout it out…maybe in a bit of a rebellious way…but it feels soooo good!!

You should see me rocking out to it in my classroom at the end of the day after students have left.  😀

7.  The answer is yes. What’s the question?

Would you, AuburnChick, accept this check for $1 million dollars, retire, and live out the rest of your days knitting pretty socks, shawls, and whatever else strikes your fancy?

😀

8.  My Random Thought

I’m going to share the link to another YouTube video, but before I do, let me explain why.

Last week…on Friday, I think…I was teaching my second class of the day and asked one of my female students to take a bag to another student in another classroom during the break between our sessions.

She looked down at the bag, which contained Gatorade and snacks, and asked, “Mrs. AuburnChick, is that for a football player?”

I told her that yes, it was, and that I had adopted two players this year.  My school has a program where staff members adopt football players during the season and provide bags of treats on game days.  It’s a great way to show these guys that we care.

Then, my student told me the most amazing thing.

She said, “Mrs. AuburnChick, you remind us (her table) of Mrs. Tuohy from the movie The Blind Side.”

When I asked why, she listed three reasons: “You hate Alabama, you adopted a football player, and you love kids.”

Did you tear up?

I know I did.  It was one of the kindest things a student has ever said to me.

If ever I was looking for confirmation that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing, this would have to be it.

We are only two weeks into school, and these kids know that I’m there for them…that they are cared for…both as students and people.

Teaching is so much more than imparting academic knowledge.  It’s forming relationships with those who cross your path.

As Steven Curtis Chapman says, “You were meant to be touching the lives that you touch…You were meant to be bringing the gifts that you bring, singing the songs you’ve been given to sing…You are perfectly, wonderfully, beautifully meant to be…You were meant to be.”

This is how I feel about me and teaching.  God has given me gifts, and my songs are those of academia, positivity, and acceptance.  I am one blessed woman to have this assurance.

Enjoy the song and video!

7 Responses

  1. OK…I love your answer to #1 and I couldn’t agree with you more. I will be singing that Zoegirl song in my head for the rest ot the day…and I love that one by Steven Curtis Chapman, as well. In case you’re wondering…I did tear up at what your student said. Tha’s a big compliment…and so very true! You’re having such a positive impact on your students and I can guarantee they’ll never forget what you’ve done for them.

  2. You could retire with a mere million dollars? These days, the cost of living, I don’t think that would last very long. [seriously] Anyway, as I put for my answer, teacher….and I mentioned that there are different ‘teachers’…and religious teachers are one.

  3. I love your answer to #7! I would totally say yes to that too 🙂 And I couldn’t agree more with you on #1. I was just thinking about how the most important jobs in the world are not the ones you get paid to do like parenting and sharing the Gospel…great answers 🙂

  4. What a lovely compliment and confirmation that you’re in the right profession : )

  5. You took me back in the days when you hate ZOEgirl.. & then you closed up with Steven Curtis Chapman? You made me happy today 🙂

  6. I love natural peanut butter now. It’s all I can stand to eat. The “real” stuff tastes so fake!! Haha. I have to tell you, until this post I never associated the “Auburn” in your username/blog name with AUBURN. I always thought it was a reference to your hair!! That was my Aha! moment of the day!!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

