• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,101 hits

I’m What???

Keeping with the theme of Midol and all things feminine in my previous post, I thought I would mention a little conversation that I had with my good friend Barb the other day.

Now, you’ve gotta know that Barb is a couple *cough* of years older than me.

She’s been teaching since the cavemen were around as well.

*cough*

So, when she talks about young people, she means people in their early 20’s.

We’ve got a few new teachers this year, and among them is a young one.  And when I say young, I do mean young.

This teacher is eager to please and a lot of fun to work with.

Did I mention that the teacher is young?

Like fresh out of college young?

Yeah.

So Barb, when contrasting said teacher’s age to, say, mine, called me…

Are you ready for this?

MIDDLE-AGED.

Did you read that right?

Yeah, you did.

My ears did a double-take!

Really?

I’m middle-aged?

Like, seriously?

I was like, “Seriously, what in the world makes you say I’m middle-aged?”

She was like, “You know…since you’ve raised your kids and all.”

Ok.  I didn’t really know what to say, so I dropped the conversation, but it stuck in my head.

Now, I know I’m all of 42 and almost a half, but really.  Does that mean that I’m middle-aged?

I mean…middle-aged people are OLD

And FRUMPY

And OLD (yes, I know I said this).

They are so NOT cool, and I know that I TOTALLY am.

Besides that…Lord willing, I don’t think I’m even halfway done living my life yet, so I can’t possibly be middle-aged.

Now Barb, who is a couple *cough* of years older than me might be middle-aged, but I sure as heck aren’t.

And that’s my story…and I’m sticking to it.

By the way, I hear senility is the first sign of middle-age-ness.

Hmmm…

3 Responses

  1. I’m right there with you, girl! I don’t like being called middle-aged, over-the hill, an ol’ bag of bones…none of that! I still very YOUNG at heart…and that’s the way I plan to stay! This gal isn’t ready for the retirement home just yet!

  2. You’re cracking me up this morning. Let me tell you when I realized that I was middle aged. It was when I turned 50 (I’m 55 now) and it came to my attention that not too many people actually live to be 100 so yep, I’m middle aged! haha

  3. HA, HA, HA!!! Whatever you do, don’t stop to think that you’re old enough to be the young teacher’s mom! 😉

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

