• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,043 hits

Are You Ready for Some Hodgepodge?!!!

Hidy ho neighbors!  It’s Wednesday, which means that it’s time for the Hodgepodge!  Joyce has cooked up some fun questions, as she always does each week!  Play along.  Meet new friends.  We don’t bite!  I think.

1.  ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL?  The NFL is back in action along with all the college teams.  Are you a fan?  Who do you root for?  If you’re not a fan what do you do while the rest of America watches Saturday, Sunday, Monday night, and now Thursday night games?

I love football…namely college football.

Betcha can’t tell which team I root for?

Still in the dark?

Well, let’s just say that the “Auburn” in my blog name doesn’t stand for the color of my hair.

WAR EAGLE!!

By the way, I’m taking 1/2 day off from work on Friday so we can drive up to Auburn to visit Rooster and catch the first home game!

Woo Hoo!

2.  What’s something I’ll always find in your closet?

Shoes.

I love them.

I often blog about them.

It’s high time I purchased a new pair.

Thanks for the reminder!

😀

3.  Share one of your earliest memories.

I promise that what I’m about to share is as true as true can be.

I remember pulling up in my crib, looking out, and seeing my mom come into the room.

I even remember something hanging above my head…my mobile.

Do I remember my days spent as a babe?  Nope.  I just have that one memory, and it’s as clear as day.

No wonder the Mr. stays in the doghouse so much.

I don’t forget many things.

4.  What circus act best describes your week so far?

I’d say it’s a toss up between the lion tamer (imagine me and sixty teenagers each day) and the trapeze artist, trying to balance the many, many responsibilities in my life.

I think I make a better lion tamer than trapeze artist.  Balance isn’t something I’m very good at.  Thankfully, I have a very understanding family.

5.  What’s a food you disliked as a child but you love now?

I can’t think of something that I disliked way back when that I actually developed a taste for as an adult.  I’ve always hated Brussels sprouts, liver, and sweet potatoes, and to this day, I cannot stomach even the smell of them.

6.  Describe your summer in three words.

Restful, joyful, relaxed

7.  Where were you on September 11, 2001? Will you do anything special to mark the day this year?

I was on my way to my hairdresser to have my highlights redone.  I’d stopped at a convenience store to pick up a soda, heard someone mention something about needing to get to a TV, and then heard the news on the radio as I continued my drive.  While I listened to the radio, the second plane hit.

I pulled into the parking lot of my hairdresser’s place and sobbed.

I’d just lost my dad the previous April and was grieving very heavily and, I suspect, suffering a bit from depression.

All I could think of was the family members left behind.

I collected myself, kept my appointment, called in to my children’s school to make sure they were alright, and then ate lunch at the school with them when I was finished getting my hair done.

It was a horribly surreal day.

I am thankful, though, that God spared me from seeing the news as it hit the Today Show, which I ALWAYS watched after dropping off the kids at school.  If I’d seen bodies dropping from those windows, I don’t know what I would have done…given the amount of grief I was already experiencing.

With me being a teacher, I did honor the day by showing my students two short videos about 9-11.  I tied them into my QAR (Question-Answer Relationships) lesson.  My students sat, transfixed, throughout the videos.  They asked a few questions, and a couple actually remembered being picked from preschool.

8.  My Random Thought

I am so excited.

Today is the day when the lawn company the Mr. and I hired back in July FINALLY begins work on my yard.

We originally had to wait a month to allow for two applications of industrial-strength Roundup to kill everything that was in the yard…weeds and all.

However, Florida has received so much rain since July that we had to wait…and wait…and wait.

The company had to apply a third application to the front yard because my weeds had started growing back!!!

I called yesterday, and they told me that they will begin work today!  They expect the job to take a solid three days.  The company works 7am – 7pm.

They are going to regrade the back yard…remove at least an inch of dirt to level things out so water won’t come onto my porch every time we get a heavy rain.

The front yard will get new sod and all new plants for two flower beds.

To say that I’m psyched would be an understatement.

I’ll post before/after pictures when the job is finished.

4 Responses

  1. How fun to be going to the Auburn game! Should be interesting when they play the Razorbacks! Of course, after their lackluster performance last weekend, I wouldn’t get too worried if I were you. 🙂 Can’t wait to see pics. of your finished yard! I think 9/11 is a day that will forever be etched in the memory of all our minds. Have a good one!

  2. What a cool memory. I can barely remember yesterday. haha

    Can’t wait to see the pictures of your yard. Have a great day!

  3. Hahaha – my hubs and I were just reminiscing the other day about when we lived in the Florida Panhandle (which is really more like lower Alabama) and everyone at our church would ask us who we were fans of – it was all “Roll Tide” and Auburn Pride and Florida Gators… craziness! 🙂 But I’ll admit, seeing games live is just so much fun! have a great day!

  4. I loved your memory as well. Not many people can go that far back.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

