• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,098 hits

In Style With the Hodgepodge

It’s that time again!  I have no idea how Joyce keeps the questions so fresh and new, but she does!!!  Thanks to her for hosting this weekly meme, and thanks to you for reading my responses!

1.  The Wednesday Hodgepodge this week falls on John Chapman’s birth date.  He’s more famously known as Johnny Appleseed…what’s your favorite variety of apple?

Honestly, it’s a toss-up between Granny Smith and Red Delicious.  I like Red Delicious in my apple/orange juice, but I really enjoy spreading a little bit of organic peanut butter on my Granny Smiths.

2.  When did you last say ‘ick’?

I honestly cannot remember.  Because I teach high school, it’s entirely possible that I said this word last week.

3.  Do you think there’s a generation gap?  Explain.

As a high school teacher, I think I can answer yes to this question, although I think that adults can CHOOSE to close the gap by staying current with new styles and trends.  However, the lack of respect from one generation to the next (and this doesn’t just mean younger to older but also vice versa) is definitely there and points glaringly to the gap that exists.

4.  What’s on your computer screen saver?  Do you leave it alone or change it often?

I use a vocabulary screen saver, and boy did I just realize how truly nerdy that makes me sound!  I never change it.  I’m simply too busy and don’t really care.

5.  If you had the attention of the entire world for two minutes, what would you say?

This is a very tough question and one I might just have to use as an “If” brain break with my students!

Hmmm…one would have to assume that the world really cares what I have to say, eh?

I think that if the whole world was listening to me, I’d tell them that I’d found the answer to world peace…

KNITTING

And to accomplish this, everyone had to pick up a pair of knitting needles, FANCY yarn, and cast on.

Peace would be achieved by the community building that would occur as everyone helped each other figure out how to salvage dropped stitches and gauge issues.

Yes, that’s the answer my friends.  Not military power but knitting power!

6.  Four fashion trends to try this fall are-brocade/jacquard (fancy printed fabrics), peplum, lace, and printed pants…which of these four would you be most likely to wear?

I’m not uber trendy, and I cannot really see myself wearing any of the above items…unless we’re talking lace SOCKS.  So, I choose nothing except what’s in my wardrobe and dresser drawer.

Yes, I am a killjoy.

7.  What can make your bad day better?

Lots of things can make my day better!

I love when my friend, Barbara, stops by my classroom after school to chat.  She inspires me and helps me stay focused on my purpose for teaching…helping the kids.

I love when I receive an unexpected phone call from one of my children, and the only reason they’ve called is to see how things are going.

I love getting phone calls from my friends.  For too many years, I was the friend who called…who made the effort to stay in touch…so having friends who make that effort means a lot to me.

8.  My Random Thought

Yesterday morning, I was doing my thing…teaching my heart out…when one of my students asked, “Mrs. Auburnchick, why are you wearing two different shoes?”

I looked down and saw this…

I cannot believe I had not noticed…neither when I picked up the shoes from the shelves in the garage or when I slipped them on.

I doubt I would have noticed had a student not brought the matter to my attention.

I could not blame lack of sleep because I had gone to bed two hours earlier than usual.

I think it’s a sign that I need to slow down and stop living my life in the fast lane.

6 Responses

  1. The two shoes made me smile : ) Did you make up something quick, maybe ‘I wanted to test your powers of observation’?

  2. Hey, at least both shoes are really cute! Knitting…never thought of that as a way to world peace, but you may be on to something there. Only, is it okay if I crochet…it’s a little easier for me. haha

    Have a great day!

  3. I have worn 2 different shoes myself. I agree knitting could save the world. I have just finished knitting funky socks for the grandchildren.

  4. The shoes = AWESOME!!!
    What you’d say to the world about knitting= AWESOME!!!
    PB on apples = AWESOME!!!
    Vocabulary Screen Saver = didnt even know that existed, but still awesome!

    you are just awesome! 🙂

  5. I have gone out wearing two different shoes too! I got dressed quickly and put on one brown flat and one black flat. Ooooops!!

  6. Where can I get a vocabulary screen saver?? That just sounds COOL!

    I have to admit that the shoes look so similar….Just say it’s a fashion statement and see if a trend starts! LOL

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

