• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 552 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,509 hits

A Small Gift With a Big Message

I saw one of my students walking down the hall during lunch a few days ago.

She said, “Mrs. Auburnchick, I have something for you.”

Then, she proceeded to dig through her purse.

She pulled this out…

This sweet tenth grader became a part of my class last year after she transferred, mid-year, from another high school in town.

For various reasons, her schedule changed twice during the year.  Both times, she stayed with me, simply moving from one class period to another.

It was the one thing her mother had insisted on…that she stay with me.

She has a few things going on in her life…BIG things…so she’s had a rough time of it.

Despite the challenges she’s facing, she her smile rarely fades from her face.

She continues to amaze me as I watch her stick up for classmates who are being bullied.

She’s even got a little guy who seems to have taken an interest in her.  Unfortunately, she’s not interested but is too kind to ask him to leave her alone.

I take special care of her, knowing her unique circumstances.

Her gift spoke of her appreciation and touched my heart.

It is moments like these that inspire me to keep pushing on…to keep lesson planning on the weekends and late into the evenings when I’d rather be knitting or reading a book.

That is what teaching is…moments like these…strung together…sometimes haphazardly…connections forged…sometimes when you least expect it.

One Response

  1. Yes, it’s the small things that make a BIG impact. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

