• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 546 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 153,103 hits

Words Define Us

A couple of days ago, I shared how I’d had a rough day.

I had become quite angry.

Later in the afternoon, I reflected on the day, and I grew ashamed.

During my angry rants to a couple of trusted friends, I used language unbecoming to a lady.

Yes, I did.

While I don’t get super angry very often, when I do, I lose control of my mouth.

This shames me greatly to admit, but I’m an honest person, and so much of my blog is about baring my heart.  It’s how I grow.

This might surprise you, but it was the Mr. who actually held me to task.

As I shared about my day, including the cussing part, he shook his head and told me there had been no need for that.

You know what?

He was right.

I texted both of my friends and asked them to forgive me.

One of my friends told me not to worry…that they were just words.

I texted her it was important to me…that words define us.

You can tell a lot about a person by how he/she speaks.

Oh yeah.  I’m feeling worse and worse as I type this.

Sigh.

As I showered that night, I asked the Lord to forgive me.

One would think that after coming off of the juice fast, I would be more self controlled.

Apparently my focus had not been on my mouth; however, I did gain clarity.

I need to be constantly on my guard against the sin that lives in my heart and threatens to rear its ugly head when I’m not looking, and I need to remember that my words define who I am.

I pray that I learn to speak softly and only in a way that honors God.

2 Responses

  1. Oh man.. you just made me strongly aware of my words…

    I’ve learned lately, when something bad happens & I want to let out a string of unpleasantries, I just go “YEAHHHH” … don’t ask me why… Ricky thinks its hilarious…

    whatever works – right 🙂

  2. I am sorry that you had a bad day, bad enough to bring you to bad words. That happens to me, too, and like you, it makes me feel even worse because I know I’ve let Him down and I’ve let myself down for letting the situation have so much power over me.

    Like my husband is fond of saying, you can’t unring a bell. All you can do is apologize (which you’ve done) and go forward. You can do it!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

